Portlandia


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
August 17th 2015
Published: August 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

View from my Room - PortlandView from my Room - PortlandView from my Room - Portland

This hotel is awesome. Feel like I am on the river.
So I had not heard from Fly since he left me in peace in the Zenhut. I was wondering, how I would do the key exchange with a 6:30 AM train out of Canada, which included a customs visit. I was about to message him, when I got a note from him. He was training a new boat chief and if I wanted a 5 hour tour around the surrounding Vancouver waters, I could hop on the boat. One catch, I had to pretend like I was part of the crew. Unfortunately, I had to jump on my train and had no opportunity to sink Fly's charter with my incompetence. By the way, I am considering a name like the Zenhut for my own personal lodgings. Brohut isn't quite right, but it is certainly in the neighborhood.



Well my plan to walk to the train almost ended in disaster, when I happened upon a skunk at 4:45 in the morning. The little guy looked at my like he was thinking, I don't want to spray you and you don't want to get sprayed. Thankfully, he did not pull the trigger. Could you imagine an 8-hour train ride with a skunk smelling B.O. Dan McGrath? Customs went great. Unlike, entering Canada, I felt like my U.S. brothers could wrap their heads around my trip. Also, there were no attractive woman to distract me. The train ride was beautiful. I got to experience the other side of the Puget Sound as well as the portion I had already traversed, all with a window seat on the water side.



I arrived in Portland where it was still in the high-eighties with a forecast of 98 degrees for Tuesday. Having been to Portland a few times, this portion of the trip is about R&R. My hotel room is beautiful and right on the river with a wall of floor to ceiling windows. (see attached picture) I have a fireplace (didn't know it would be in the 90's!) and a jetted tube. Saving the budget with Airbnb until now has paid off!

Advertisement



19th August 2015

Washington fires
As u traveled through Wash did you see any sign of the fires? So glad to see this post, I was sad there was not one this morning.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb