Still in Van...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
July 31st 2006
Published: August 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

LandedLandedLanded

Alex arrives in Vancouver - pre-eviction photo.
Hi boys and girls,

There hasn't been any big adventures since my last blog. For the past 5 weeks, I've been working as an usher (though Customer Service Rep sounds better on my resume) at Cirque Du Soleil's Varekai. Ari got a job there too in the Food & Beverage dept. He must've made a good impression on his first day that they made him a team leader.
This was my first job that doesn't involve me looking at a computer screen all day.
The show itself is quite impressive. After watching it 40 plus times, you do get a tad bored at some of the acts and have to entertain yourself by spotting the fuck-ups from the performers, busting people taking photos, dancing to the music, or the occasional flirting with the other ushers. There was a slight brush with fame... Pierce Brosnan was in the audience and I got a close up look of him. And yes ladies, he is very handsome in real life. A bit like me really... but taller. What do you think, a Filipino James Bond?
The pay was pretty average and the cleaning after each show sucked, but now it's over I do
The Eviction HouseThe Eviction HouseThe Eviction House

Ari and I lived here for just under 3 months... until Alex screwed it up for us!
kinda miss it. I've just started a job as a chef (yes, a chef!) at a little restaurant called Cafe Crepe. The pay is worse and the people aren't as nice as the Cirque mob. But I've only been there for 2 days so I'll give them a chance.
Ari also landed a store manager's job at a Greek restaurant called Characters.
Vancouver was the last stop in North America for Varekai. They'll be in Australia/NZ for the next year so go check it out.

On July 20, Alex arrived in Vancouver. Finally, the three boys are together again (that just sounded really gay didn't it?). But the clown managed to get himself evicted on the first night. I don't think our Muslim landlords appreciated him walking around the house in his undies. There were other reasons which I wont get into. So we found a two bedroom apartment downtown and we're moving in tomorrow, August 1. We haven't decided how long we're staying yet. Maybe another couple of months before we buy a car and take a trip out east to the Okanagan region.
Alex said I've lost a bit of weight. I didn't even notice... must be
Get a roomGet a roomGet a room

Ari... always trying to get in my pants
this new beer diet I've been on. It's pretty tough but I think I can stick to it. Just kidding mum and dad... don't worry, work's been busy so I haven't been going out that much.

So what else has been happening? I went to a filo wedding earlier this month. I thought I'd be the only Aussie there but it turns out there were 11 family members of the groom there from Canberra. Bloody aussies...
Speaking of which, the locals have a term for us. They call us JAFAs - Just Another Fucking Aussie. Yep, we're everywhere. There were about 6 of us working at Cirque.
The Cat Empire were here for the Vancouver Jazz Festival and I went to go see them. I saw guys with VB and Triple J shirts, and a bloke with a North Melb Kangaroo jersey on. Mind you, I had my Byron Bay Blues and Roots shirt on... you have to fly the flag of course.

Right now, there's an annual event called the Celebration of Light at English Bay where the world's leading fireworks manufacturers represent their country and put on a fireworks display in front of a crowd of
UshersUshersUshers

Group photo on the last day.
about 400,000 spectators. The show is held every Wednesday and Saturday over two weeks. I've only seen the Chinese effort and, not to sound bias or anything, but the Aussies would shit all over them.

Anyway, that's it from me for now. Hope you had a good read. Feel free to add any comments, good or bad.

Take care,
Vits


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Grand ChapiteauGrand Chapiteau
Grand Chapiteau

The big top.
Cirquador partyCirquador party
Cirquador party

Me, Shelley and Jensen. Nice shirts eh?
Daliha and MeDaliha and Me
Daliha and Me

She's a sweetie.
Mandy and ShelleyMandy and Shelley
Mandy and Shelley

Another couple of sweeties.
Totem poles at Stanley ParkTotem poles at Stanley Park
Totem poles at Stanley Park

That's me on the bike so you can image how tall they are.
Lion's Gate BridgeLion's Gate Bridge
Lion's Gate Bridge

View from Stanley Park.
Grizzly bearsGrizzly bears
Grizzly bears

These poor orphans have been caged up their whole lives.
We're not gay but we're willing to tryWe're not gay but we're willing to try
We're not gay but we're willing to try

Always check for an adam's apple...
English BayEnglish Bay
English Bay

Alex, me and Vanessa - at the beach watching the fireworks.
Me and Bren being idiotsMe and Bren being idiots
Me and Bren being idiots

Trying to light our jeans with hairspray and matches.


2nd August 2006

How cool .........
Hey Vitsss, great to hear what you have been up too !!! Sounds like you are having a ball and that's the way it should be !!! Love reading your updates :) Well till next time ... take care ! * Penn * xxo
6th August 2006

yeah.....
Gday you gays, oops guys. good to hear from all of yooze. keep on keeping on, thats the aussie spirit. sounds like you all are having a good time and are fighting fit. ari hows the greek food compare to kouzina greko. is the owner a hard core greek munga. good to hear alex is still in good form..smoooth i went to see your mum the other day and sat down and watched a cypriot movie with her (jibreiaka) vitsss looking very composed and sure of your self in your action and posing shots. dont worry about your beloved sss we are taking good care of it and your momo wheel. dont blame us if there is more wear on it when and if you finally return and if we sell the car for a tidy profit. just kidding.. ohh and by the way the tigers are going shithouse they are not going to make the finals haha. the dragons are not much better they might make it but will definatelly be whipped by the dogs if they play them. the dogs are outright second on the ladder and won last week 9 tries to two against the cowboys. courtney says hi also. we miss you all go hard or go home.......
11th September 2006

Hey!
Hey Manong Vito! How are you? Your mom sent me this link to your blog! I finally have a way to contact you....Where you at now and what you up to? Keep in touch...my email add is jane.ramos@marriott.com....Keep me posted! Jane (Inday)

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb