3... 2... 1... BUNGY!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Danger Will RobinsonDanger Will RobinsonDanger Will Robinson

Obviously I can't read the warning signs

3... 2... 1... BUNGY!!!!!!!!!!!!


It had been a while since the sun shone in Vancouver. So today was a perfect day to do something crazy.
I left Vancouver 2 days ago, taking a 1.5 hr ferry ride from Horseshoe Bay travelling west to Nanaimo on Vancouver Island where my buddy Brenna lives. Since Ari was back in Sydney for his brother's wedding, I figured I'd invite myself over and see the island for the first time.

The "something crazy" thing I had in mind was, of course, bungy jumping. The location: Bungyzone - North America's first legal bungy bridge above Nanaimo River. Doing this would complete the skydive/bungy jump double, and another item crossed off on my things-to-do-before-i-die list.

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't nervous. I did delay the jump however - Brenna and I took a trip out to the bridge yesterday to do the jump and I just happened to have forgotten to put in my contact lenses... how convenient! After watching a few people jump, it didn't look that bad. Yeah right!
Brenna had done the jump before (at the same place too) when she was 13, but she keeps that fact to herself... and everyone else who asks!

Anyway, I paid the money and signed the waiver saying I wouldn't sue their ass if I die or got injured, and before I knew it, I was on the bridge getting strapped in. The guys went through their usual safety drill but all I heard was "blah blah blah".
A quick jump's a good jump right? So up I get, edge myself to the platform, "3... 2... 1... BUNGY", and I launch. 143 feet later south and I'm bouncing around like a rag doll. I can't compare it to sky diving because the ground doesn't come at you at 100kph, unlike bungy jumping.

You'd think that would be enough excitement for one day but no. It is Brenna's birthday on the 10th so I offer to give her an early birthday present... a 140kph ultimate swing ride off the same bridge. So before we know it, we're up on the bridge again getting strapped in for another ride.

Sorry if I can't describe the jump and swing all that well - I'll let the pictures speak for themselves.
Would I do it again? Shit yeah..........

Click here to
Bye byeBye byeBye bye

They want me to wave to the camera and smile?
watch the video.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

No offense!No offense!
No offense!

Nothing to do with the jump... just a good photo.


19th July 2006

Hi Pegboy
You're a bit slack in keeping your blog up-to-date. Pleasantly surprised at the lack of alcohol and nudity in the photos.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb