Apparently my facebook updates are not enough...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
July 23rd 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I don't know why so many are confused? I'm in Canada eh! Peru was the idea, but traveling companions bailed at the last minute. The summer started with my "ginormous" family and I vacationing on Siesta Key Beach for a week. Two days before, I realized I had yet to purchase tickets for a summer trip. I weighed out my options and as much as it would be nice to save some money, I would go crazy if I returned to Medford too soon.

After my family vacation of lounging, lounging, laughing, and lounging, I hitched a ride with my Aunt and Uncle to the Tampa airport where I caught my first flight to New Orleans. One of my best high school friends lives in Baton Rouge. I haven't seen her since her wedding three years ago and since I have the time, I thought why not kill two birds with one stone: tour the Big Easy and visit a dear friend.

Deena (the dear friend) and I headed for New Orleans Wednesday. We walked up, down, around, and I think even sideways through the French Quarters and Market until my calves felt like they were going to explode. (my fault for wearing flip flops). We indulged in local cusine: jumbalaya, gumbo, po boys, and of course Albita beer. I admired the architecture and snapped a gazillion photos, some that would make excellent wall art for my condo, and took in the distinct smelling air (comparable to NYC and Bangkok). The combination of the smell and humidity really made for two elegant woman trudging through the streets of the Big Easy. Lets just say we fit in with the locals. The souvenir stores, art galleries, and antique shops occupied us for many hours with many clever signs, shirts, paintings, and voodoo dolls. Last stop before returning to our bed and breakfast was the infamous Bourbon Street. I was on the prowl for a jester hat, mardi GRAS beads, and a two foot bong filled with a mix of something tasty. I loved listening to the variety of live music; we popped into Pat O'briens for dualing pianos, and other Bourbon Street Pubs to take in the popular zydeco music. Also, a quick peek into the karaoke bar was also very amusing. At around 11:00, I decided that I was either too old, tired, or hot to stay and party longer and that a shower and bed was necessary.

Fortunately for me, my friend is an expert of the evils of people. I was given a lecture on how to be aware (Look the stranger in the eye, never put your head down). So with even a little more anxiety, I boarded the plane to Vancouver with pessimistic thoughts from my tutorial.

The flights were great! (yes, Christopher GREAT!) However, I had a little issue with immigration. I was interrogated for what seemed to be hours before they understood that I was a school teacher with no real agenda hoping to just enjoy the beauty of their country. I guess they didn't enjoy my fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants attitude. Good news though, they realized I was harmless and released me. After a "quick" pick up of my bags, I was headed to my guesthouse on the skytrain while enjoying the late 9:45 sunset.

Stay tuned...
Christina

P.S. Bare with me. These blogs are being written with my iPod. Sorry no pictures.


Advertisement



24th July 2010

Hey you! Glad to see you traveling and enjoying your summer. LOVED the pictures of you and the fam down in Florida. Hope all is well. Any chance you want to go to Egypt and/or Jordan next summer??! Be safe.
26th July 2010

You're Awesome!
Hey Howmeister! Glad you are starting to clear things up for me lol! Thanks for the blog i look forward to reading them every summer! You should really keep track and write a book some day! you are an excellent writer! i just read that to my mom and she loved it too! So who are you in Canada with and what are you doing there? LOL why the heck did they think you had an agenda to get into Canada?! Crazy Canadians!!! Miss you hope you are having a blast!!! :) XoXo
26th July 2010

Immigration
I know what you mean; those damn Canadians are always giving me a hard time whenever I fly into Toronto. -O.B. Laden
29th July 2010

I DO read
Hey Teen, I love your writing and I agree a novel about your adventures should be on your agenda. I think I would actually read it but I must say, I love looking at your pcitures and hear you telling me the "real" stories, the unedited stories. Looking forward to your next post... Sar

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb