Blog # 2


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Fab Shot of Connie and RhodoFab Shot of Connie and RhodoFab Shot of Connie and Rhodo

Aren't they beautiful?
Blog #2 - Miss Connie's house in Kits

Today was a busy one. We didn't get to Mr daVinci - Connie had a business meeting and I went shopping at MEC. How's that for culture? We did manage to get the the Vancouver Wellness Show - the enormous health trade show that I actually did several years ago with Klondike Apothecary. Took us three hours and $25 in parking....

While some of it was lovely, like the Reiki sessions and the extended time we spent in the neutral spine leather chairs (retailing at 2K), we renamed the entire event " The Snake Oil Show". I had an ancient whitehaired retired dentist with halitosis point his silver wand at my back while trying to remember what it was that the wand did. We had a high powered fast talking Asian woman cook us eggs, burnt milk and melted sugar in a titanium fry pan retailing at $280 per. When a man beside us volunteered that the stuff was crap, the coating came off and he had to throw it in the garbage, she shrieked and threw her pen against the back wall of her booth. Then there was the water that was zapped with something and fixed your immune system, gave you a new attitude to life and whatever else you wanted for your money, which they would take eagerly.

My favorite "health food" booth was the Pork Producers one, followed by the chocolate booth and the sugar-packed power-drink make-you-shake-til-you-fall-over booth. Connie ate all the salty health food snacks in my goodie bag, and I got her crushed chia seeds (remember the chia pet? reinvented again as health food!) guaranteed to make my travels happy ones.

We did enjoy the heating pads with amethyst and the other one with jade crystals and I loved the dogs who visit the elderly. One pit bull cross (who looked like a lightweight blonde Jonesy, Anne) crawled all over me, which indicated to his owner that I "must be a dog person as he doesn't do that with just anyone". The biggest deal of the show was the Thermarest lumbar cushion to take on the plane, which I bought in a heartbeat and am totally grateful for. Tomorrow is 12 hours on planes in two installments - 3 hours to LA, be bored for 4 hours, and 9 to Lima.

Dinner is in the oven and then we are off to see Doug in "Follies in Concert" about retired performers coming out of retirement to do their one last show. One of the women in it has not been on a stage in 25 years - she plays herself. Should be a gas.

Cab is booked, bags are packed and I'm ready to go. Everybody sing now " Cause I'm leavin on a jet plane, don't know when I'll be back again....oh babe, I hate to go (NOT)....

No blog tomorrow, I suspect, unless I can find a cafe at LAX - airport from hell. May the blog gods be generous...and the ones that direct air travel and overzealous, underpaid US security types too.

Ciao, R xxxc



Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb