Blog #3 - LAX


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

YAHOO! Made it to LAX!

Flight out was a hot pencil jet - cramped and full and I nearly didnt make it. The US Customs guy at Van airport discovered something on my passport that he didn't like. Seems the previous customs agent that last OK'd my passport in April 2009 initialled the passport suggesting that I was a Green Card holder returning to the US.! It took the new guy a while to figure out this was not the case but it kept me on the edge of the cubicle for some time. Fortunately, he was a nice guy and appeared to believe me, which is always helpful.

Got to LAX and found a grove of trees and bushes to do some chi gung in. I was exhausted and sore (3 hours sleep last night) and needed to recharge. And so there I was, infront of a parading stream of mad travellers, just feet from the road and sidewalk, doing my chi gung. I figured, hey, I am in Southern California - they have seen it all. No one but a 6 year old really noticed me, and his mom dragged him away as he rubbernecked past me.

The big excitement came at the LAN desk where the gorgeous Peruvian woman and I chatted about that fabulous restaurant in the middle of the Amazon, then she blocked an entire row for me!!!! I get to lay down on the flight! The universe is being kind.

I need to fly - literally. See you in Peru!

PS - Connie - the thermarest whoopie cushion is the best thing ever invented. Works like a charm

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb