Snow in Vancouver!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
November 29th 2005
Published: November 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

SnowSnowSnow

The white spots in the photo are the snow flakes... (They reflect the light from my camera flash)
The weather is really weird in Vancouver. Two weeks ago it was raining every day. Last week it was foggy. (Refer to my previous posts.) Today, it snows!!!

After my German class in Downtown, I took a bus back to UBC. When I alighted from the bus, I saw a powder-like substance falling from the sky. At first, I thought it was rain. But upon closer inspection, that stuff didn't behave like rain, because it was falling down slowly and gently, unlike raindrops, which falls quickly in straight lines... I quickly went home and surfed the website for Vancouver's weather. To my surprise, the weather website said "Snow". I quickly looked out from my window. I could see more and more of the powder-like substance falling from the sky. I couldn't believe my eyes and I kept asking myself, "Is this really snow?" For Vancouver, snowing is normally rare, because Vancouver is a coastal city. Even if it is snowing, it will normally occur in January. But right now, it's snowing in November!!!

I went to the balcony of my residence unit. I could see a layer of white crystals accumulating on the balcony ledge. I touched the white
SnowSnowSnow

Me seeing snow for the first time
stuff, and it melted on my fingers. It's really snow!!! Suddenly I felt very excited. This is the very first time in my life seeing and touching snow!!! For my whole life, I live in Hong Kong and Singapore, where the climate is tropical and the probability of snowing is zero. I always looked forward to a day when I can see and touch snow. At first, I expected that "One Day" would come sometime in December and somewhere in the North (e.g. Whistler) or in the East (e.g. Edmonton). But I never expect to see snow in Vancouver in November!!!

Feeling excited, I quickly dressed up and went outside to experience the snow. It was really wonderful to see the snow flakes falling from the sky and landing onto my jacket. This is something that I will never see in Singapore. (If it snows in Singapore, it probably means the next ice age or the end of the world is near...) I walked along the streets and watched the snow flakes falling gracefully and gently onto the ground. However, most of the snow melted upon touching the ground. The only place where the snow remained as solids was
SnowSnowSnow

My hair and jacket are covered with snow
patches of soil.

I took a 30-minute walk in the snow and I took some pictures. (Unfortunately it was nighttime and the photos are dark.) The snow was indeed beautiful, but at the same time it was bitter cold. After the walk, my whole face and my 2 hands were numb. (My fingers could hardly move.) I hope I will see some more snow during the daytime, so that I can take some good pictures of the snow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

SnowSnow
Snow

Snow accumulating on the soil
SnowSnow
Snow

The snow gives the flower bed a christmas atmosphere
SnowSnow
Snow

Snow on my wallet and my jacket
SnowSnow
Snow

Bicycles being covered with snow


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb