Foggy Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend a friend and I wanted to climb up Grouse Mountain and check whether there were any snow on the mountain. (I never see snow in my entire life, because for all my life I lived in Hong Kong and Singapore, where the probability of snowing is zero.) However, when we woke up in the morning, Vancouver was covered in a blanket of thick fog. From my window, I could hardly see a thing more than 50 metres away. In the end, we didn't go to Grouse Mountain. Instead, we stayed at home for the whole day to surf the internet and play computer games...

Today (Monday), the fog still lingers in Vancouver and it shows no sign of dispersing. This is the first time in my life seeing such a heavy fog. The limited visibility makes me feel lost and insecure. It also makes me feel a bit moody, as the fog seems to wrap around me like a fishing net trapping a helpless fish.

On the other hand, the hazy effect is rather poetic and picturesque. The sight of everyone and everything fading in the distance makes me feel like I'm dreaming, or I've stepped into
University Boulevard, UBCUniversity Boulevard, UBCUniversity Boulevard, UBC

The fog is thickening
a mystical land. As I was walking along the street in the fog, I was daydreaming that I would be entering a time tunnel among the fog and I would end up walking into another era. (Of course in the end I didn't step into any time tunnels. If I did, I won't be blogging now. Haha.) Seeing such a heavy fog is really an unique experience for me, as I never see such a fog in Hong Kong or Singapore. (Actually Singapore and Malaysia experienced periods of haze before. In this case, it was not a fog. It was actually smoke generated from forest fires in Indonesia. Hence, beside limited visibility, there was also this "smokey" smell in the air. The haze forced Singapore and Malaysia to close down schools and cancel flights... At one time Malaysia even declared a state of emergency.) I'm wondering, if the fog in Vancouver worsens, will the government declare a state of emergency? Haha. Who knows, if the fog gets serious enough, the government may close down the schools (just like the recent teachers' strike in Vancouver) !

By the way, I read from the news that there was a shooting spree in Tacoma Mall. I just went to Tacoma and Olympia 2 weeks ago and I went past Tacoma Mall during my trip! Suddenly I have a weird feeling. If I chose to visit Tacoma this week, I might be held as a hostage in the mall! Now, I felt so fortunate as I had visited Tacoma 2 weeks ago and now I'm safe and sound here in Vancouver, unaffected by the Tacoma Mall shooting...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

University Boulevard, UBCUniversity Boulevard, UBC
University Boulevard, UBC

At night, the streetlamps seem to be glowing...
Foggy photoFoggy photo
Foggy photo

I tried to take a photo with the flash on, but the tiny water droplets in the fog reflected the light from the flash, causing the photo to look so horrible.
Downtown VancouverDowntown Vancouver
Downtown Vancouver

The fog in Downtown is not very thick. It seems most of the fog is concentrating at the UBC campus...
Gage residence, UBCGage residence, UBC
Gage residence, UBC

The 3 residence towers are barely visible. In the photo, only the lights from the east tower are visible.
Gage residence, UBCGage residence, UBC
Gage residence, UBC

The South Tower (my home)


24th November 2005

4 USD well spent!
Hey Charles, your gingerly Singaporean spirits the way man! Great travel! Proud of you!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb