Last minute preparations


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
October 15th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am down to the last hours of running last minute errands before I hop on a plane on Monday and I begin my 3 week adventure in Australia. I am meeting my friend Sarah, her husband Chris and their 8 month-old child Nathan in Cairns.

How did this trip come about? I had just come back from 2 weeks in Belize in April and my first night back in Vancouver I was talking to Chris and he was telling me about the vacation that he and Sarah were planning. He said "wanna come?" and my response was "why not?". So after no planning on my part, (I was just responsible for getting my ticket there), I am about to crash Chris and Sarah's vacation. Thanks to Sarah and Chris for letting me tag along and for completing lots of the advance planning and research. My babysitting skills are going to be tested as there will be days where it is just me and Nathan. My survival skills will be tested as well, as the plan is to spend 2 weeks camping along the coast between Brisbane and Sydney.

The activity that I am looking forward to most is diving the Great Barrier Reef. I was unable to dive when I was in Belize but this vacation I will be better prepared. In August/September, I completed my Open Water Diver course in Vancouver (news to my parents), and I plan on swimming with the fish in Australia. Much thanks to my private diving coach, Paul, who was VERY patient with me.

Must get back to packing. Wish me luck on my adventure!

Nancy

Advertisement



17th October 2005

Have a great trip!!!!!
17th October 2005

You, babysitting!?!
I hope someone will be there to take pictures! KK
18th October 2005

Babysitter?
Good luck with the babysitting! HAHA! I know you will have a fantastic trip with the "family". Take lots of photos.
19th October 2005

And so?!?!
How was the flight? Things going well?! Great photo btw.
19th October 2005

Babysitting???
Babysitting who...was this for me?? Sadly I am currently writing a paper for school...can't wait to hear about the reef and the boys...sorry Paul...
19th October 2005

Go to Port Douglas--it's just above caines. Small town but paradise. Easy access to Reef.Iridesent blue butterflies.5 mile white sand beach.Hang gliding. Wanna live there when I grow up.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb