From Central America to Canada & Inbetween


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
March 26th 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Spring Travels

Belize, Minnesota, Seattle & Vancouver, Houston & Austin.

Pelicans!Pelicans!Pelicans!

Staff meeting & training in Duluth. I love our staff! Amazing people! GO PELICANS!!
Better late than never. I had absolutely no time to update my blog this summer in Belize. It was crazy busy!

Anyway, started off the spring in Belize, with 2 trips, one in Bermudian Landing & the other in my favorite village, Hattieville. Got to serve with Pam Dyer, who is from Hattieville, who is becoming one of my good friends! She brings so much energy to the church! It was an amazing week in Hattieville...lives were forever changed!

Moving through the spring, I went to the twin cities & Duluth in Minnesota for meetings & training for the upcoming trips in the summer in Belize & Jamaica! I was able to spend the night with Megan, which was SO great seeing her! I miss her dearly.

Amy & I took a vacation to Seattle & Vancouver. She has family that lives right outside Seattle so we stayed with them & then spent 2 nights in Vancouver. I loved both Seattle & Vancouver!! So beautiful! We took ferries, went hiking, Deception Pass, Gastown, Pike Place & they were having an International Cheese so they had over 200 kinds of cheese...yummy!, ate some of the BEST sushi ever, the undergroup old
Jordan's Grad PartyJordan's Grad PartyJordan's Grad Party

Went out with the girls in Dallas to celebrate Jordan's graduation from college.
Seattle. And in Vancouver we walked a ton, went to Stanley Park, ate at a different kind of ethnic restaurant for each meal, stayed in a creepy hotel. I could MOVE to Seattle or Vancouver! I loved the mountains, the green vegetation, cosmopolitan, SO international!, all different kinds of languages & people!, the water/lakes/ocean! Amy, let me know if I left anything out!

Left for Houston the same day I got back. Spent time with my cousin, Cody, Aunt Lyn, Uncle KD, and my dad & bro. Good times.

Finished off the spring by doing my first triathlon! Oh my gosh I thought I was going to die! I did it with my cousin-in-law, Pam, in Austin, TX. It was the Danskin tri & there were 3000 females! The swimming was the worst, I really didn't think I would make it! It was open water so picture all these women in the water...there were legs & arms everywhere...kicking & hitting you while you swam! Once I FINALLY got through the swimming the rest was awesome! I REALLY love biking now! Check out my photos from the race!

Stay tuned for my blog of my summer in Belize. Incredible!
Best friends at the parkBest friends at the parkBest friends at the park

The ducks surrounded us! At first it was funny, then it started to get a bit weird. We were like, ok, go away now.
Please keep the people in Belize & Jamaica in your prayers! I left just before the hurricane hit. We currently have 2 teams in Belize right now. They've had to abandon their ministry sites & move inland. They will start helping with hurricane relief work. Hurricane Dean has already done so much damage to Mexico, Jamaica & Belize. Here's an article on one of our teams there right now.

The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

Psalms 9:9


God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

Psalm 46:1


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

On ferry in SeattleOn ferry in Seattle
On ferry in Seattle

Amy's bro & wife said one thing you have to do when you come to Seattle is get some fish & chips & take a ferry. You drive you're car on to the boat.
Giant in SeattleGiant in Seattle
Giant in Seattle

I know...typical tourist thing...from the movie Ten Things I Hate About You...we just couldn't help ourselves.
Deception PassDeception Pass
Deception Pass

Gorgeous view! Went on a hike & over the bridge.
China TownChina Town
China Town

Saw all the crazy stuff in Chinatown in Vancouver. Very interesting! Ate at a local chinese restaurant to have some dim san...yummy!
Stanley ParkStanley Park
Stanley Park

Beautiful! Got some coffee, walked around, so many people out...loved it!
Our hotel in VancouverOur hotel in Vancouver
Our hotel in Vancouver

Don't be deceived by the beautiful mountains in the background...we stayed in a hole!
Took a ferry to North VancouverTook a ferry to North Vancouver
Took a ferry to North Vancouver

The pict says it all...
Waterfall outside SeattleWaterfall outside Seattle
Waterfall outside Seattle

Went on a difficult hike but it was beautiful!
Farmer's MarketFarmer's Market
Farmer's Market

Had everything...food, cheese festival, music, market, shopping...so fun!


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb