Cleaning closets before we go anywhere?!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It is almost 10:00 and I am still prepping to go in weird ways. Yes, the rupees have been tucked away after my four year old nephew and I made varied piles with what seemed like a lot of Monopoly money. But why the compulsion to scrub inside a fridge? Or give away clothes to the school fair now when the event doesn't happen until April 21st? I have re-written my will, tidied my office, and am now organizing my taxes. I have written post-dated cheques, cancelled the mail and papers and countless other small tasks.

Maybe it is this compulsion to ensure that life is orderly and controlled. If all external stuff is "handled", then the stuff that I can't control will somehow seem tamed. Or perhaps it is knowing that friends will be periodically staying in my home and I want to create the illusion that there is always nice wine in the pantry (okay, there USUALLY is...), that my cupboards are clean, and that Martha Stewart summers in West Vancouver with me. These friends know better than that!

Stepping into the unknown. That is both the appeal and the fear of any travel, at least for me. It is rare that we get that feeling. When I go to Omaha in May of this year to hear the Oracle of Omaha, the most revered investor of our day, Warren Buffet, speak, I doubt I will clean my closets before I go. I suspect that Omaha will just feel so darned, well, simple, compared to what India might be that I will pack at the last minute, leave less copious notes for all around me, and not worry for the safety of my daughter should I not come back. What bad could befall anyone in middle-America?

So, four more days of compulsive behavior and then it all gets left behind. Responsibility, commitment and work. And then, I know, it will all have been worth it.

Advertisement



14th February 2007

your will
when you rewrote your will, was I in it? if you want to keep busy, feel free to do my taxes too...Hope you have a great trip! Bootcamp will be a little less nice without you...and I promise to take care of Roo while you are away...
15th February 2007

don't shame me!
Hi Nancy, Your busy-ness before you go embarrasses me. I have only 6 days remaining before we take off for China. Have I cleaned anything up? NO! I did, however, order $1500 in US cash for Mon. so that we can pay for the wedding reception. I await your commentary from India with anticipation!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb