If It Is Saturday, It Must be Vancouver!


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Most of you who have been to Vancouver know that they started the farm the table restaurant movement. And yes, the food up here is great. I particularly enjoy the seafood, fresh greens, and their best kept secret, ice cream.



But what do you really know about this great west coast Canadian city?



One of the most clever names for this city is Vansterdam. I wonder why! Are they trying to emulate one of the most interesting cities in the world? Experts say they have a notorious love affair with marijuana. You can find an Herb Museum, as well as a New Amsterdam Cafe.



I never knew there was a Forbidden Amsterdam, a walking tour of "off the beaten track" attractions. One of Vancouver's most infamous strip clubs was The Penthouse, known to have been visited by Sinatra. Might you learn some secrets of the penthouse?



Wreck Beach is the area's only clothing optional beach. Perhaps it is just too cold here for a nude beach? But along with some nudity you will find a definite hippie vibe form the 60s.



Who would expect this buttoned up city to have a geeky burlesque show? It is called Geekenders, who often poke fun with shows like "A Burlesque Tribute to Nicholas Cage", and "Star Wars, A Nude Hope."



If you have been here, I am sure you have been to Granville Island, the best foodie place in the city. Besides being a great place to buy ingredients for cooking, the area also has some good places to eat.



Then again, street food has come to Vancouver, as it has most big cities in North America. There are more food tours in this city than tourist bus companies. My closest friends of Chinese descent all claim Chinese food in Vancouver as the world's best. Quite a statement!



Along with great ice cream, I have always been told this city is known for their chocolate. Since I am not a chocoholic, or even much of a taster, I will take their word for it. Check out Best Vancouver Chocolatiers for more information.



Did you ever play Button, Button? There's no need to collect buttons anymore because this quirky store does it for you. With buttons from all over the world, their collection is constantly growing. Of course, it's not just a button store, but a magical experience of colors and tastes of the world's different cultures.




Vancouver may have better donuts than anywhere else, including Portland or New York. Why? They call them deliciously non-artisanal. Yet, Vancouver is considered the third best city in the world to live in.



Did you know there is a website for "9 Touristy Things to Do in Vancouver If You're Broke"? One is to explore the bars in Gastown. Another is to rent a Mobi bicycle. Obviously, walking everywhere instead of suing public transport is a good money saver.



Since I recently finished my Anthropology class, I should go to the Museum of Anthropology. FYI, I got to skip the final, since we had to compete against other teams in our class. We had to create a new religion! It was so off color and so funny, we got the most votes. So, our team, myself and three 19 or 20 year olds, got to skip the final and received "A"s for the class.



Greenpeace was born here in 1971. Have you seen Russell Dalrymple? On the other hand, or face, that is, Botox cosmetic treatments began here.



Real estate is expensive here. A single, detached home in the city costs, on average $1.2 million CD. Yet, there are no freeways in the downtown area! And over 40%!o(MISSING)f the residents are immigrants. So, yes, it can be done!



Sadly, I cannot buy beer or alcohol in a grocery store, it must be a liquor store.



Did you know Perry Mason is from Vancouver? Yes, Raymond Burr was a lifelong Vancouverite, along with Lonnie Anderson, Jason Preistly, Margaret Trudeau, Michael Buble', and one of my favorite singers, Sarah McLachlan.



Tax on everything except food is a whopping 12%! (MISSING)Manitoba and Ontario are 13%!,(MISSING) Quebec is 14.975%!,(MISSING) and the four easternmost provinces are a whopping 15%!!(MISSING)!!! I guess I will not buy much here.



Stanley Park is 10%!l(MISSING)arger than New York's Central Park!



Sushi experts say the famous California Roll was invented here.



What else would you like to know?



We did not arrive in Vancouver until Sunday afternoon. Scheduled time was 9am YESTERDAY!



I have changedl my flight home 3 times, and my hotel twice.....so far. I hope to get home Monday for our usual Monday dinner with dear friends.



Even Amtrak never gets this far off schedule. It has cost many of my fellow travelers big money, with change fees, non refundable fares, lost hotel rooms, and most importantly, some quality time in Vancouver. Perhaps VIA Canadian will reimburse some of it.



The poor crew must turn around this evening at 7am, Monday, for the return train to Toronto!!!



It is now Sunday eve. I am off the train, staying in my favorite Vancouver hotel, The Listel, on the best street, Robson. Yes. I am so happy to be off of the train. I am even happier knowing I get to go home to my two best girls.



I had a great happy hour dinner at Coast, on nearby Alberni Street. The manger, Alex, waited on me at the bar. Ihad my half dozen oysters, followed by calamari and Brussels sprouts. I washed it down with a few glasses of Prosecco.



I bought some clothes for another day's stay, and head for home tomorrow. I have a four hour layover in Seattle, so, I may head downtown for a few hours.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb