1st day


Advertisement
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 8:09pm
Hola, bonjour, hey everyone!
Finally settling in to life here in vancouver.
Things are so different! Kilometers, celsius, loonies, and toonies are some new things that I'm learning about. And yes, people say "eh" a ton. I already say "for sure" but mine is more valley girl <3 There are some crazy drivers here....as they say, the stoplight is merely just a suggestion. So glad that I missed the olympics hoopla...kinda looked crazy and I would have been right in the middle of it. There's still silly string stuck to the sidewalks.
Just had my first day of work today and it's a lot of info to absorb! This place is big on processes! So NOT like my first days at my other companies. I guess we'll see what tomorrow brings...but so far everything is going good. My mom helped me unpack so things are pretty organized. Just need to figure out what to do with my closet situation! There is a good size closet except the owner ruined it by adding those IKEA sectional things in there. I just need a rail that goes across for all of my tops. I'm going to turn the den into my walk in closet/pantry/storage. There is no storage space in my kitchen or the bathroom either so I'm struggling trying to find places to put it. Good thing I don't cook much because the oven is where I'm storing things. Other than having no storage space this place is actually pretty big. It's 700 sq ft with a den, solarium, and 2 small balconies. There's other buildings next to me, but I not directly in front of me. I didn't want a Hong Kong high rise type situation where you're so close that you can see what they're eating for dinner. My neighbors are all comfortably far away. Just found out that the other recent hire from LA also lives in my building. It was nice to have someone to follow home tonight because I had no idea where I was going. It does not help when my iphone app is telling me to go northeast and I have no idea where north is at the moment! I took a crazy route this morning...
The people at my office all seem super nice and I can see myself acclimating pretty quickly. I can't wait to start shopping this weekend with my clothing allowance! I need a whole new wardrobe....it's chilly out here! That's all for now....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb