Food In The Belly


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Being a Xavier Rudd fan for a while now but never having the privilege to see him perform live, I didn't hesitate to snap up a couple of tickets when I saw the advertisement in the local Georgia Straight newpaper.
Ari left for Sydney to attend his brother's wedding 3 days before the concert leaving me with a spare ticket. No one wants to see a concert by themselves and lucky for me, a friend of a friend of a friend who I've never met before was keen to come with me... you beaudy!
So I met up with Jen before the gig for some Mongolian BBQ - it was just like the Genghis Khan restaurant in Sydney.

The venue for the gig was the Malkin Bowl at Stanley Park (one of North America's largest urban parks). Being an outdoor concert, I was a bit worried cos it rained heavily the day before but the weather held and the ground was reasonable dry. Not that we sat around much. As soon as Xavier came out, everyone was on their feet.
A native opened with some sort of blessing/prayer to welcome Xavier. Then an aboriginal came out and gave the locals a demo on the didgeridoo, explaining how the circular breathing works.

But Xavier blew everyone away. Though he might sound fairly mellow on his studio albums, seeing him live is another thing altogether. His music and energy was totally engrossing and the majority hippie crowd was loving it. It was either that or the pot was getting to them. Even a bald eagle stayed to watch most of the show on a nearby tree.
Xavier played for about 2.5 hrs.
In the end, I think I converted Jen into a fan - well, she did buy the Food In The Belly album there and then.

If he's in town everyone, go see him.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Vits and JenVits and Jen
Vits and Jen

Jen became an instant fan.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb