Day 4 - Driving, 3rd Uncle and Deep Cove


Advertisement
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Old Photo shopThe Old Photo shopThe Old Photo shop

My late grandfather was a photographer in Penang, Malaysia and this is their photo studio which was painted by an artist.
Today is Sunday. I drove for the first time on the other side of the road today. It was a bit of a funny feeling, but I got to my destination unscathed. I had to drive my grandmother to Church this morning. It's only about 5 minutes away, but still involved a few turns that needed to be negotiated. It's just a one off thing as my uncle couldn't do it today, so I'm off the hook for the rest of the trip.

Gee Chek (2nd Uncle) took us all out for Yum Cha lunch which was quite nice, and in the afternoon my 3rd uncle (Sa Chek) and his wife Winnie came around to grandmother's place to visit mum and I. I haven't seen him since 1986, so it was great to see him again. For some reason, he's been out of town whenever I come to Canada, but now we finally get to meet again. He looks pretty good and in fine spirits. Sa Chek is an engineer and works in Calgary, Alberta, but comes back every 10 days or so. He's also currently involved with building his new house somewhere in Vancouver.

In the evening, Uncle
60th Wedding Anniversary60th Wedding Anniversary60th Wedding Anniversary

This is a photo of my grandparent's 60th Wedding Anniversary photo with the whole family. This was taken in 2002 in Richmond.
Bin Keng (Say Han Chek or youngest uncle) came to pick me up as he invited me to stay with him in Deep Cove for a night (little did I know that this would be extended for a few days!) It was also great to catch up with his wife (Aunt Kelly) and see his place again. It was still under renovation when I last visited a couple of years ago, but it has all been finished now.

It was quite a contrast from being in Richmond for the past 3 days, which is very suburban and where you would struggle to find a caucasian face. In comparison Deep Cove is a beautiful secluded waterway north of Vancouver where you would struggle to find an asian face. The homes there are quite palatial, and my uncle's was no exception, sitting right on top of a cliff, looking down on the waterfront, with his own dock and boat moored there.

So the Deep Cove experience begins!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Yum ChaYum Cha
Yum Cha

Yum Cha in Richmond
Chicken's FeetChicken's Feet
Chicken's Feet

It's just not Yum Cha if you don't have chicken's feet!
Uncle Bin Siew and Aunt WinnieUncle Bin Siew and Aunt Winnie
Uncle Bin Siew and Aunt Winnie

Hadn't seen him since 1986, he's a bit bigger than when I last saw him.
Uncle Bin KengUncle Bin Keng
Uncle Bin Keng

Driving from Richmond to Deep Cove, North Vancouver
Aunt Kelly Aunt Kelly
Aunt Kelly

Kelly was painting their pergola when I arrived. It was a nice cool evening and the sun was still out pretty late.
View from their houseView from their house
View from their house

I had to be subject to views like this!
Kitchen and DiningKitchen and Dining
Kitchen and Dining

Uncle Binnie and Kelly have done a great job with the house.
Dock and BoatDock and Boat
Dock and Boat

Their boat is a wakeboarding boat. Kelly's son Cohen is a keen wakeboarder.
Uncle Bin KengUncle Bin Keng
Uncle Bin Keng

Uncle cooking dinner. He's a truly great cook
Fiddler on the deckFiddler on the deck
Fiddler on the deck

I pulled out the fiddle to play a couple of the tunes. Warming up for Virginia!
Uncle Bin KengUncle Bin Keng
Uncle Bin Keng

Uncle Binnie is a great guy. He's a well known doctor in Vancouver. He has his own clinic, works in ER and delivers babies too!
CohenCohen
Cohen

Cohen is Kelly's son. He's in his final year of school. I saw him back in 2002. He sure has grown. It was great to catch up with him again.
Me and KellyMe and Kelly
Me and Kelly

Kelly would be my Vancouver guide and bootcamp commander for the next few days. Hiking, paddling, climbing. We did it!


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb