Getting Ready


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver Island » Victoria
September 18th 2006
Published: September 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, it looks like I'll be using this travel blog. I had tried a different site initially, but I hadn't realized that it was going to make everyone create an account with their site to do anything with it. This one looks good.

I'm almost finished taking all my drugs. I've had a total of 5 needle pokes, some of which had combined vaccines, over the past month or so. The past 2 weeks have been particularly fun. I got my last Japanese Encephalitis shot on Wed. Sept. 6th (which apparantly has potentially drastic side-effects, though I seemed fine) then the next day I went to the doctor regarding my infected and incredibly huge, swollen middle finger. I was promptly placed on antibiotics for the next week, which made me feel sick everytime I took a pill (twice a day). Gooood times. I finally finished those last Thursday, so on Friday I starting taking anti-malaria medication. This is just to test out the drug, because it can have nasty side effects, too. These are pretty common. Like, 1 in 10 have side effects. This is my last day of taking the pills and I seem to be night terror and schizophrenia free, so I guess I'm OK. I'll resume taking them when I head to malaria-land. Now that I'm done with malaria, it's time for Dukoral, a vaccine against cholera and a strain of E. coli. I'll take dose 1 of 2 tomorrow (Monday).

Thennnnn I'll be off on my road trip to see family!!! I've been looking forward to this for weeks. I'll be going to Creston then Calgary, then home for a day before heading off to Ottawa for Operational Advisory meetings for Scouts. I get to see more family on that trip, too. Then I'll be home in Victoria for 7 short days before taking off for Sydney. Yea!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb