"Me no speak English" I love that I have that option.


Advertisement
Published: April 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

There was a road accident and the bus was late. I was trying to catch the 9AM ferry but it looked like I wouldn’t make it. The bus that was supposed to take us to the port couldn’t make it so another bus that was meant for another route took us instead. There was an old chatty man on the bus. You know how they like to talk about their past adventures. There are times when you just wanna be left alone but out of politeness to the elderly you have to listen to them. The teenagers next to him had that job. The moral lesson that he stressed was “You can do anything you want. Just don’t get caught”. He’s been to jail several times. I don’t think the kids would take his advice. They looked like good Asian boys.

I arrived five minutes late for the 9AM ferry. The next ferry was at 11AM. They have a different definition of “ferry” here. In the Philippines a ferry is a big outrigger boat. Here a ferry is a big ship that can carry hundreds of cars. Maybe even more than a thousand. There are restaurants inside and free wifi. I had lunch in White Spot. Their veggie burger was good. There’s always a vegetarian option wherever I go. I love that about Canada. The ferry arrived on time and right after the passengers got off, we were free to board. It was amazingly fast! Ferrys that size in the Philippines would take at least four hours before they're ready to sail again.

A woman with three of her friends smiled at me. I know she did that to say “Hey you’re Filipino! I am too!” They sat a row behind me and I overheard them talking and the woman who smiled at me said “He is Filipino. He smiled at me”. Non-verbal communication. I lot of things can be communicated without words. I turned around to confirm that I am. They all work in Vancouver as caregivers. They asked why I’m alone. Filipinos would always ask that because it’s not normal for us to travel alone. The one who smiled at me is Vangie. She has lived here for more than 20 years. Linda, the quiet one moved to Canada over a year ago. The talkative one is Florence who was previously a domestic helper in Hong Kong before she moved to Canada several months ago. Vangie’s mother was also with them. She spoke a Filipino language that I do not speak. So I never got to talk to her.

Filipinos normally have lots of food with them when traveling. Culture dictates that you have to offer food to people you talk to. Our situation called for it so they offered me food. I of course accepted to save money. I put the food and water in my bag so I won’t have to buy dinner later.

Vangie has a car and offered to give me a free ride. I’m getting a lot more out of this than I expected. I wonder if it’s the same with other culture. That when you see a countryman abroad you’re automatically friendly. It’s great to be able to speak your language and to hear it spoken in other parts of the world. A lot of the upper middle class and rich Filipinos raise their kids speaking English. They sound very American. It is amusing when you hear them with that twang but I would never raise my kids like that. More than ten percent of Filipinos live abroad. And a lot of us move abroad permanently. You learn to appreciate your own language when you’re in another country. Having a good command of English is advantageous and required for a lot of Jobs in the Philippines but I am a bit resentful of those who refuse to speak Filipino, in the Philippines. There are people like that. Little do they know that they would look pathetic and hypocritical when they go abroad. Even when they are in the Philippines.

This is also the first time that Linda and Florence will see Victoria. The capital of British Columbia. Downtown Victoria was a lot farther than I thought. Good thing I got a free ride and didn’t have to wait for the bus. I went with them to the Parliament. There was a guided tour inside but they were not interested so we just roamed around in the building by ourselves. There was a parliament session or hearing (whatever you call it) when we were there. Tourists may come in to observe but the seat for observers were full so we did not get to go in. Plus I was with the kind of tourists that would just look around then move on. The women I was with did not look like they were interested in history. I knew I needed to extract myself from their group soon. I did like them but I had to take a much slower pace and participate in things like the hearing or whatever they were doing in that hall.

I separated from them when we got out of the Parliament. I went to the tourism office to ask where the hostels were and how to go back to Vancouver. The tourist officer though it was funny that I came without knowing those details. I’m really bad at planning. Sometimes I just go even without knowing exactly how to go to the place that I want to visit. I just ask people along the way and I always find it. If you get lost then you trace your way back. As long as you have some money in your pocket there’s no reason to be afraid. Unless you go somewhere where your money can’t save you. I am a little afraid to go up a mountain alone. It doesn’t mean I won’t do it! If you’re afraid then do it scared. That’s how I want to live my life. I believe that there may come a time when money won't matter (like during a war) so we all need to be able to survive without money. I was born and raised in a city so I'm one of the least likely to survive because of my non existent domestic skills. Need to work on that.

Victoria they say is the most British place in Canada. They even have those double deck buses. I got on a bus and sat near the back. I was a bit puzzled when people kept going to the left side of the bus a couple of meters behind the driver. I wondered how that side never filled. It was like a magic door where people disappeared. Then I realized I was on a double deck bus! I was so excited so I went up. It’s the coolest thing! Maybe people wondered why I was taking pictures of the bus but I couldn’t care less. It’s my first time to be on a bus like that. I had an awkward moment in front of the driver when after putting my money in the thing where you put your coins I waited for the ticket. The driver asked what I was waiting for and he said they have no tickets here.

Victoria does not have the tall buildings that Vancouver has. They have more of an old world feel. The roads were narrower. I liked to walk around in the old part of town. I downloaded a free walking tour that I followed. Good thing my mobile has 4000 Mah battery. I saw the most beautiful cherry blossom I've ever seen! It was a white one and it looked so fluffy! Apparently Cherry Blossom trees are not Cherry trees. I thought this was the one that had cherry fruits. Cherry blossoms are just ornamental trees.

I was taking photos in China town and there was a guy who was standing next to me who said

"Do you wanna take my picture?"

I thought I didn't hear it right. Maybe he wanted to take my picture, knowing that I'm a solo traveler. So I mumbled something and proceeded to remove my camera then he said

"No no no, YOU take a picture with me in it"

I was confused. Why would he want me to take his picture? So I would have an example of one of the locals in my photos? I know that people in countries where digital cameras are uncommon do this but this is Canada. I'm pretty sure he has a camera and have had his picture taken many times. Maybe he was kidding? I did not get the joke. My confusion led me to say

"Me no speak English"

It's great that I have that option.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 24; qc: 108; dbt: 0.2469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb