Victoria Museum and I-max Theatre


Advertisement
Published: February 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Imax Imax Imax

The Rocky Mountain Express
I fell upon this trip when my friend from victoria brought up a few movies he was talking about and then asked if I have ever been to the I-Max theatre or even the Museum they had with in the 4-floor complex. I said no, no I haven’t been to either. Knowing my fiend he made a fuss about it and planned to go the following week.

We started in Nanaimo and ventured off from there to Victoria B.C. The trip initially took roughly a little over an hour from our original destination. The trip was to see the vast museum they had on Canadian history and to watch The Rocky Mountain Railroad document.

We started out trying to find parking close to the museum that didn’t cost anything, but with no luck had to resort to public pay parking along side of the roads surrounding the complex. Once we found a spot a block away we started to walk to wards the entrance of the Museum. They had a hot dog cart out front and we stopped to pick up a dog before we went in. My friend previously told me that its going to be about a
Museum FrontMuseum FrontMuseum Front

Victoria, BC
3 hour tour around the museum for first timers. I asked if there was a guided tour and he looked at me, laughed, and said no. We finished our hot dogs and went in. The line up was about 6 minutes long with entrance fee of $12 and higher with the option to combine the I-Max experience.

Each floor of the museum had a general theme to it and then had separate sub sections of models to antiques. Another floor had a entire culture exhibit on the native culture as well as another floor to various animals. Lots of things to read along side of the different things you can look at. You had to get in reasonably close to the information sights to read them and in some areas the lighting wasn’t the best for reading but it made the environment visually appealing when it came to the items on display.



After about 3 hours of going through the various exhibits we ended up at the I-Max lobby area. There was a concession with normal over priced theatre goodies and what not but the variety was pretty decent to choose from. Once you got your
Mammoth Mammoth Mammoth

Victoria, BC
jumbo popcorn you wonder in to an area where you’re just waiting. Just looked like people where semi making a line up and no general places to sit. We lingered there for about 10 minutes and then the doors finally opened for the screening of the movie. We sat down and watched the screening of The Rocky Mountain Railroad and I have to say amazing film. The screen was huge; don’t know how else to say it as well as the sound was definitely at a movie theatre volume. Over the entire trip was so fun being a first time for both the movie and the museum.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb