Home away from home


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Starting in Nanaimo, I set off to my other home. Take the highway to Duncan is a quick drive with lots of other stops on the way too. Chemanus and Ladysmith are always my favorite, In Chemanus there is amazing live theatre entertainment and to tie it all in was the water view as well. There also is this amazing bakery out there but I can’t remember the name of the place.

Plenty of Inn’s, Motels, and a number of bed and breakfasts to feed you if you are looking for good food and a good sleep. Stop off in Ladysmith to pick up some ice cream. I think Ladysmith is probably one of the best places for small businesses and the variety they have there ranges from the gourmet kitchen to coffee shops. Keep going just a little further and on your left you will see a gorgeous view of the bay and boats. The drive continues and its mainly highway with farm and forest to line but it’s an overall nice highway drive. The traffic in the winter is decent and in the summer, expectations of traffic should be higher. There may be a few speed traps and speed detectors on the initial stretch out there.

Coming in to Duncan your going to run in to the BC forest museum. It was formally known as the Forrest museum but was changed in previous years. A new information Centre for city information has been recently built. Head down one of the residential areas along side a gorgeous lake just near the bird sanctuary would be my father’s house. My second home initially. I love coming to this away place when it’s needed. Being on the bird sanctuary the bird sounds are normally a sound you would hear. You wont hear any traffic or anything in that manor. The only thing aside from the bird chirpings would be the wind gong through the trees around the property.



I remember any time I am at my home away from home the weather has been nice, and I’m not saying it doesn’t rain there, that would be silly. I remember when it does rain there at the right time at night if you are diving along the main road along side the lake you would be running over frogs. I’m not talking about one here and one there, I’m talking about hundreds on the road, swerving to miss but hitting lots anyway. By the time you get home you have a few new lines on the car of frog blood. We start to worry if we saw the big bullfrogs showing up in the yard, which can be the size of a football.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb