Happy Thanksgiving, part 2


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Squamish
November 27th 2010
Published: November 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So, Thanksgiving yesterday was a success. I won't tell you too much about it, I'll get to a full weekend update on Monday when I'm back in the US, but I can say that it was great, being my first Thanksgiving and all. But as I was celebrating last night with people from all around the world (literally all continents except the poles) I started thinking about what I am grateful for. Being thankful for surviving long and difficult journeys, both physically and mentally, with the possibility of starting new and growing stronger, is something that we all should bear in mind.

I am thankful for a life that I am able to shape and form almost independently, with free will and a future in sight. I am thankful for my health, even though I've had a few struggles along the way. I am thankful for my friends and family that stood by me during difficult times, and for doing so till. I am thankful for my family for teaching me right from wrong and giving my unconditional love, even at times when I don't deserve it. I am thankful for my friends for bearing with me, in both good and bad times and for making me believe that lifelong friendship does exist. I am thankful for finding my path in life, even though I will always be a restless soul. I am thankful that the diversity in my everyday life and the ability to travel give me the chance to settle this restlessness and curiosity, peace by peace. I am thankful for my boyfriend, for joining me on this life journey, even though it has its ups and downs and for believing in me and making me believe in myself. I am thankful for him loving me in moments when I don't love myself and for letting me love him back. I am thankful for him making me see a future I thought I'd never had.

And I am thankful for today, for the experience that I've earned during the last 36 hours- the people I've met, the wonders of nature I've seen and the strength and courage I've found in myself for doing this alone. I am thankful for being granted the opportunity to do this work and this journey on the other side of the world and I am thankful that almost 3 months of indescribable events and memories will lead me back home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb