Vancouver Island 2012 (5)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Sproat Lake
August 18th 2012
Published: August 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning was hot but I went out for a walk along Faber Road, admiring the houses overlooking the lake as I went. Moved from shaded areas one to another. As I proceeded in a westerly direction (old habits die hard 😊) I heard the engines of the water bomber start up. Realising it was going to take off I jogged up and down the road trying to get a clear view through the trees for a photo or video. I must have amused the neighbours as I frantically searched for a good position; there were a lot of trees! I failed to get the takeoff but it slowly circled the lake twice before flying away. It did fly over me at one stage though so I got some pics. Spent the late afternoon swimming again, easiest way to cool down.

Tuesday we went tubeing down the Somass River with Sue the landlady of the Fish & Duck. We started from a beach beside the Alberni Fish & Game Club, local shooting establishment. They cater for all tastes with full bore target range from multi position gallery to clay shooting range from a variety of stands. Sues husband is the chairman.

The Somass was a peaceful, tranquil place. Larry & Judy used a double tube and Sue and I had singles which appeared much easier to control. We floated downstream, over some simple rapids for nearly 4 hours, stopping on a beach for beer and fruit, very civilised! While there we watched mink playing on the opposite beach. They don't seem to be the destructive pest they are at home. We finished at a big set of rapids close to town, a distance of about 7 miles. Below the rapids there was A big beach area used by the locals, a safe place for the kids to play. Now, 4 hours lazing in a tube in the sun without sunscreen has its painful consequences. My knees were fried😞 and very sore for days, my own silly fault. I shan't be making that mistake again. I have the photographic evidence but it's not for the faint hearted! However, it was a really relaxing day out though followed by double beer battered Halibut, chips and Ceasar salad at the pub, excellent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th August 2012

Red knees ?
I see your red knees and raise you my bruised and swollen right thigh and buttock. Again not for the faint hearted, Simon was visibly shocked.? Had our pre trip drink last night, a good bunch to travel with. Still sounds like a fun holiday, did you have a go on the range? Car system working out well, keep them locally. Pete.⛺

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb