Cooling my heels in Revelstoke, B.C.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Revelstoke
August 29th 2009
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A gorgeous BC day. Skies still smokey from forest fires, but the peaks are defined by that bluish haze, creating memorable views of Mount Begbie and Mount Cartier. Fire bombers carrying their loads of retardant flash over at mid-day. A day to chill and hang out with Molly, Paxkal and Quitzy at the Market. Tomorrow will be a hiking day i know up on Mount Revelstoke. it just feels great to be back here in Revy for all it has to offer. My old home town. meanwhile, a pic of me on Abbott ridge this week with Mount Sir Donald in the background.


Additional photos below
Photos: 1, Displayed: 1


Advertisement



30th August 2009

Great pic Brian, I guess Mexico is a bit hot this time of year. I have found myself in the mountains cooling off in this hot weather as well
30th August 2009

Hi Dale!
Thanks for your note. Hey, can you imagine my copy of "Somewhere In Between" is beside me? it's awesome and inspires me further. come down to Sayulita this winter? best, B.
31st August 2009

smaller mountains
Alan and I just returned from checking out a cool town along the front range of the lwer continental rockies: Lyons, Colorado. Its described as "a poor man's Santa Fe" and also as a cross between Northern Exposure's Cecily Alaska and Andy Griffiths Mayberry. Our explorations show it to be a liberal town with more serious bike riders than Suburu Outbacks. Also famous for blues performers. Nice mix. Cruised the entire town and found one cool location where we could build and grow food. After we sell something in Mex. Big hugs, and hellos to all. Miss you guys.....
31st August 2009

you are looking good
Hey Brian, I don't get the blog thing yet but you are looking good up on the mountain. I imagine you are getting in shape again. Can't wait to see you. We are stuck in Denver for a few more days until the title comes for the car on Tuesday. See you soon.
18th September 2009

cooling out in Rwvy?
Hey Just picked up your blog email while travelling in New Brunswick. Great to watch ya enjoy OLD AGE! I'm racing to catch up to ya jaffy. Meanwhile I am on my way to Antigonish to research at St. Francis Xavier U. The dream is to finish the book this fall. I am in final edit and ready to move into images/maps/timelines etc. the answer is yes the Celts were here about 100 AD. jack
18th February 2010

Hi there old guy!
Hey Brian if you get this drop me your e-mail address!
9th March 2010

hastings must be nice to stay there so long!
Hey Ian, have thought of you over the years in nebraska. Hope you and Cherie are well. hig
10th June 2010

Not sure how this blog thing works. Just got back from a high school reunion in Deux Montagnes. Not much has changed in the old neighborhood, but many changes in St. Eustache and north of town around the mall. Cherie and I are still here in Hastings, but have a home in Arizona (Payson). Oldest son (Ben) is a zoo keeper in Albany, Georgia and our youngest son (David) is a federal agent in Denver, Colorado. We will probably work a couple of more years before we sell our house here and move to Arizona. You are looking good on Mount Sir Donald, look like you are ready to carry the ball again. E-mail me and send me your e-mail address. Keep well.
8th August 2010

cool heels
Hi Ian: I haven't checked this blog in quite a while. nice to see you. my email is: higmex@yahoo.com if you're on Facebook we could perhaps communicate there. Crazy the paths we follow in life, eh? best, hig

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.9kb