Day 5 - Clearwater, BC to Prince George, BC


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Prince George
August 29th 2009
Published: August 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another chilly morning, but it was sunny all day and warmed up to the mid 70's in the afternoon; perfect weather for cruising in the Miata!

I woke up at 5:00am and was wide awake, so I decided to get up early and resume my journey. It was still very dark and the stars were out. I put the top down on the Miata, pulled my knit ski cap over my head and ears, put on my gloves and hit the road. It felt good!

Stopped for a big breakfast (TOO big) and after an hour of driving after breakfast I was getting drowsy, so I pulled over by a river at a rest area and took a 30 minute nap. After that I felt alert for the rest of the day.

This was mostly a driving day with no significant side trips. In the morning I was skirting the base of the Canadian Rocky Mountains and came close to Jasper National Park, a park that Sereda and I visited a few years back during a winter rail tour through the Canadian Rockies.

Early in the day I hit the 1000 mile mark on my trip and now have about 1300 miles behind me (only 5000 more to go!!).

I've been on the road in Canada for three days now and I have yet to see Dudley Do-Right or any other Mounties for that matter. They must be driving unmarked cars or else they're still riding on horseback in the wilderness. I was talking with the owner of the B&B in Vernon about the Mounties and asked her if Canada had ever contemplated changing the name of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) to something more contemporary. She gave me a puzzled look and said, "You know, I've never really thought about that, but you have an interesting point."

I arrived at Prince George, BC this afternoon (a fairly large town). My B&B is beautiful (see photo) and only cost $75 (Canadian).

Thought about David frequently today.

Later!

Jack






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb