Day 15 - Life in Apex


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Penticton
December 13th 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm sat in the living room with a cold beer in my hand with my new room mate Jan from Switzerland, I moved downstairs in the hostel yesterday as a space opened up and Jan moved in today and starts work tomorrow! Like the rest of us, he hasn't got any instructing experience either but I'm sure he will pick it up as quick as I have! The last week has absolutely flown by and I've lost track of which days are which as I'm skiing every single day and "working" 5 days with 2 days off. I have had quite a few lessons which I have all enjoyed immensely and recieved a $20 tip from one of my lessons which I was super stoked with and will be going on a few beers tonight! My lesson today was a private with a South African and his daughter who had both never skiied before and he has said that he will be making a few more private bookings which means I will be raking in some more money which I would desperatly like at the moment!

We recently had a group of Australian school kids leave us which was a great shame and the hostel has seemed a lot quiter since they left! While they were here we also invented a new sport called "Rocking Horse Sledding" which involves riding a rocking horse down a ski slope (honestly we didnt invent this sport under the influence)! On the last night of the Australian's time in Apex we took the teachers out for a drinking session in which confidence grew and by the end of the night they had all riden Bessie down the beginner slope!

The only other main news I have is that I landed a 360 the day before last so I was buzzing for ages after that, unfortunatly the same jump was destroyed the next day by a CAT (piste basher, not the pet) so I haven't been able to progess it at all. But the time will come and I cannot wait to go out tomorrow and ski some more. God I love this life!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb