Another week in Hell lol


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
June 6th 2010
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mmmmm, what will I write about this week??? What have I been doing???

I haven't really done heaps this week. We were quite busy at the weekend as it was a long weekend here so the days went quite fast which was good.

On Tuesday, it was a little quieter compared to the weekend. I got to talk to Kelsey a fair bit, we've decided to do a road trip to Whistler in June, we worked out that we had the same days off for once so that will be awesome. And she invited me to go to the movies with her and her sister Ashley to see A Letter To Juliet, Elbie ended up coming too. So after work, they drive us back to res so we could getchanged then took us to their place so they could get changed, they have a really nice house on a huge property. The movie was good, Amanda Seyfeid and Chris Egan. Any Home And Away fans will know that name. Woo hoo, another aussie actor has made it in Hollywood. After the movie, we went to macca's for dinner then headed back to res. When we got back, we were
Me at Alexandra BridgeMe at Alexandra BridgeMe at Alexandra Bridge

I just walked 10kms and I could still jump for joy lol
told that Alex had been sacked. Came a bit from left field, but everyone was sick of him not showering.

Yeh, we get to blow up balloons. It was Brian's birthday on Wednesday, and we were about to pull a little prank on him by filling his office with balloons. So when we got home from the movies, he had to blow the balloons up, bad move for me with my vertigo. Once we were finished, I felt quite dizzy and was close to throwing up. The next morning we loaded the balloons into Ken's truck and while the managers were in the meeting, Kim threw the balloons in his office and closed the door with a sign and card stuck to the door. His reaction was pretty funny, he loves the attention. It's all on video, so I'm gonna try and upload it for eveyone.

That afternoon we had rescue car training (what to do in an emergency). I got to stay longer as Brian wanted me to know how they attach the rescue car to the cables as I'm the one at the top all the time. So once it was all conected, Lyle from maintence and I climbed into the car and actually had a ride in it. It was pretty cool, although I could feel every little bump and stop and start.

On Thursday, Elbie and I wanted to go to Alexandra Bridge, but we didn't have a way of getting there, so we packed a lunch and drinks and walked the 10kms to the bridge, thankfully it wasn't raining. We organised for Deb to pick us up, so we spent an hour or so at the bridge after our 1hr 45mins walk, then went to the picnic area to wait and have something to eat. As we were waiting it started to rain which was just awesome lol. We found a shady tree to stand under so we didn't get too wet. Eventually Deb turned up and drove us back to res, thank god! I really didn't want to walk as it was all up hill and my knees were already sore from the constant down hill walk to the bridge. By the time we got home, we were absolutely stuffed, I went for a relaxing bath then made some dinner and sat in front of the tv for the rest of the night, I was in bed by 10pm.

Friday, work again was a little slow, the weather here still isn't great, so it's keep people away, although the rock scaling on the mountains and the road paving isn't making things any better! We get to pick Heidi up, we got some bad news though, she lost her grandmother a few days ago, so we weren't sure if she was still coming. When we finished work, we got everyone to sign some paper for her and when we got to town, we'd buy a card for her. Nate and I went into the cafe to meet her, while Brian went pick up Tara. That night, we both did a big shop, I won't need much food for a while lol. I tried a new Burger place called White Spot, that was quite nice, I enjoyed it. When we eventually got back to res, we introduced Heidi to Chris, Andy and Elbie, the rest were in Vancouver.

The weekend was a little busier at work, on Sunday we had the Barrel Run. We got to throw big plastic barrels off the supension bridge into the Fraser River, then the barrels would race to the next town Yale. Heidi being the last one here, got to throw the barrel for hells gate, unfortunatly, ours got stuck along with about 20 other barrels in the fishways, so I guess ours wouldn't be winning lol. Brian let me sit out on the deck to watch the start which was good, thanks Brian. After I went back to work, I started getting a little dizzy, yeh, vertigo's back. I had to sit down for about 20 minutes before it passed. When I felt a bit better, across on the tram for the bathroom, and I realised I couldn't be on the tram that day, I felt pretty bad though cos it mean't there was no one to cover breaks for Andy or Nate. They were all good about it and Brian kept telling me not to feel bad, but it was a little hard not too.

Kelsey and Ashley took Andy, Heidi and I into Hope, mainly so we could book some accommodation for Whistler. We had dinner at the Blue Moose Cafe and booked in at the Adara Hotel and booked the zipline at the same time, we're all so excited.

Andy and I headed to Vancouver on Wednesday night. We got in at about 9pm so we checked into the hostel and headed out for a drink, hey there's a surprise for everyone lol. We went to an Irish Pub and had a beer and a jager bomb, then headed to a night club called the Roxy, it was packed considering it was a Wednesday night. We started on cocktails there altough they were pretty expensive. We had a Devil's Tail, Singapore Sling and a Sex on the Beach, then finished with a beer, needless to say, I was drunk. We met a few cool people though, some from Quebec and others from Ontario and I got to have a dance so that was awesome. By the tme we got back to the hostel, I think it was around 2am, we had lots of fun.

We slept til about 10.30am, then we got ourselves organised and headed for Vancouver Lookout, where we had to go to get our privellege pass, then to the bank to put my last paycheque in. Spent the rest of the day wondering aimlessley around Downtown, I found a nice pair of shoes that I
Brian on the scaffoldingBrian on the scaffoldingBrian on the scaffolding

He likes to help with everything
really wanted, unfortunatly, they didn't have my size, obviously I wasn't suppose to have them. I bought myself a new pair of pj's for summer and I got my watch fixed, my wrist doesn't feel naked anymore lol. That night, we went to North Vancouver for dinner, Andy wanted to go to a German restaurant, so we found a schnitzel house, he was in heaven lol. I must admit, my dinner was awesome. Afterward, Andy was keen to check out a strip club and wanted me to go with him, I was a little hesitant, really, why would I want to go and watch women take their clothes off??? I eventually agreed, when we got to the door, I found out it was free for me, woo hoo, and $15 for Andy, the catch was, he had to take his hoody and hat off. He absolutly refused to take his hat off though, so we didn't end up goin in. We ended up heading to The Red Room nightclub which was all techno crap, so we stayed long enough to play a game of pool then left.

The next day, Andy got a hair cut then we shopped for most of the day, I bought two dresses and some boxing gloves along with about six bottle of wine and a melon liquor. We found a bottle shop that had a section of Australian wines, has anyone ever heard of a red wine called Bitch??? I bought it, apparently it's Australian, but I've never seen it lol. Andy ended up with more then me, with two pairs of shoes, a couple of shirts, a pair of shorts and alcohol for himself. At 4:30, we met up with Debbie for our ride home. By the time we got home, it was around 9pm, we stopped a couple of times. I watched a movie with Heidi and Elbie, then it was bedtime, back to work tomorrow.

I love the weekends here, its busier then week days, but you can still stand around havin chats all day. Brian told Diane and I a couple of funny stories that kept us laughing for a little bit. I'm still having a great time here, and making the most of this experience.





Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Rafael and I at the Roxy night clubRafael and I at the Roxy night club
Rafael and I at the Roxy night club

One on the guys I met from Quebec
The German is very happyThe German is very happy
The German is very happy

Andy finally gets a schnitzel
My schnitzelMy schnitzel
My schnitzel

Ham through the middle with camambert cheese sauce, was so good, although I didn't think too much of the red cabbage
I'm such a BITCHI'm such a BITCH
I'm such a BITCH

Apparently its Australian


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb