Lovin Life


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
May 21st 2010
Published: May 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me & KelseyMe & KelseyMe & Kelsey

Kelsey and her sister Ashley both work in the Gift Shop
Hey, hey. Well, it's been another week here in the Fraser Canyon and life has been pretty awesome.

The night I got back to res, Brian took Alex and I into to Hope to pick up another new girl, Elbie from South Africa, we did our normal thing, doin the shopping, we bumped into Ken and Kathy, so they ended up taking us back to res to save Brian a trip back out there, unfortunatly, that mean't he wasn't coming to our get together. By the time we got back to res, Kelsey and Ashley were there and everyone had already started to drink. It was a good night and rather big for some people. A few people took part in a drinking game, I help Elbie unpack her groceries then let her settle in a bit. Diane and Rob turned up which was cool as did Jolene from the cafe and her friend and Brian's friend Riley who runs travelthecanyon.com. I headed to bed around midnight, but people were still out drinking. I was feeling a touch tipsy, lol.

Our next night, we had to take it a little easy as it was Canyon Appreciation Day the next day, most of us got an early night, but there were a couple that got on the turps again.

CANYON APPRECIATION DAY, busiest day of the year at Hells Gate Airtram. We had a total of 1782 people turn up between the time of 10am and 5:30pm. I worked at the lower terminal on the day and sold season and super passes with Debbie. I sold 63 super passes, which means the card holder can come back with as many people as they like and its free entry to everyone, they $51 each, such a bargain. Then I sold who knows how many seasons passes, at $5 each, there were alot, so that card holder can come back as many times as they like and get in for free. We also had four bands playing at the lower terminal, face painting and all sorts of things, was such a good day.

That night, everyone deserved a beer, so we all headed down to the point including Ken, Kathy and there kids and had a drink and a chat. After a couple of hours, I headed back to the house and to bed, it was a huge day and I was really tired.

Monday was an interesting day, alot quieter then Sunday thats for sure. By the end of the day we found out that Ben was leaving and not coming back, which mean't Rach was leavin too. It was a sad night : (

So now we have 4 tram operators for a week or so until the new one comes. Kim worked in the cafe to cover Rach's shift. That night was a big night for Ben and Rach, it was there last night so everyone had a drink.

I worked in the cafe with Vera the next day, Kathy has to find a new person for the cafe, so we're all trying to help out. It was good for a change, although the money and prices really did my head in. We don't round up or down here, but I found myself doing it. Then the change adding up with quarters, dimes, 5c & pennys, our money is so much easier. I know, I work with money at the upper terminal too, but I only deal with even money, it's $19 to get into Hells Gate, so the change is easy. Oh well,
Kathy & KenKathy & KenKathy & Ken

Kathy's the coolest
I'll get used to it, I hope.
I found out at theend the day that Kathy had gone home early to take Ben and Rach to Hope for their bus to Banff, no one got to say goodbye, I was a little sad.

BINGO!!! Twice a year, Hells Gate volenteer to run a bingo night to raise money for the Hospice Charity. So, me, along with Debbie, Brian, Andy, Kim, Alex and Nate all went into Hope for Bingo, it was fun, but I really don't know how people can sit for 3 and half hours and dot numbers, INSANE lol.

Yesterday, Diane and Rob took Nate, Alex and I to collect more stamps although I realised when we were ten minutes down the road, that I'd forgotton to pick up my camera which was on charge and my passport to get stamped, I'm such an idiot. Diane was gonna turn around, but I said not to worry about it, I already had 24 stamps from being in Vancouver and Nate had his camera, so it wasn't a huge deal.

Last night, Kim cooked everyone dinner, vegetarian pasta with lots of veges, was quite nice. Then I made everyone an ice cream cone and we all sat down and watched Rambo - First Blood which was filmed in Hope, so that pretty cool.

Ok, so that's me signing off on another week : ) xxx






Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Me, Kathy & KenMe, Kathy & Ken
Me, Kathy & Ken

Ken's pretty cool too
Nate, Kelsey & AshleyNate, Kelsey & Ashley
Nate, Kelsey & Ashley

It took me at least ten times to get a decent pic of Nate with Kelsey and Ashley
Nate, Ben & RileyNate, Ben & Riley
Nate, Ben & Riley

www.travelthecanyon.com founder
Kelsey, Rach, Me & AshleyKelsey, Rach, Me & Ashley
Kelsey, Rach, Me & Ashley

Told you I wasn't drunk, I was drinking Coke Zero all night lol
Any last bingo sheets??Any last bingo sheets??
Any last bingo sheets??

Andy & Brian try to sell a few more sheets before the next game
That's a good bingoThat's a good bingo
That's a good bingo

The lady who won didn't want to be in the pic. Deb's taking the details and handing over the winnings
Me and DebMe and Deb
Me and Deb

Deb's AWESOME
The volenteersThe volenteers
The volenteers

Andy, Kim, Nate, Alex & Me
Strike a PoseStrike a Pose
Strike a Pose

Alex, Me, Brian & Nate


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb