The last two weeks, including my trip to Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Res Group PhotoRes Group PhotoRes Group Photo

From left, Andy, Kim, Jenn, Heidi, Me, Danny, Elbie, Nate & Chris
I know, I know, sorry everyone, I've been a bit slack with putting my mext blog up. Ok, well here it is, enjoy.

Ok, well this week was off to a great start. A couple of people from last year, Kyle, Brenden and Vote turned up at res, they came for a visit and were staying with Diane and Rob but came out for a drink at res and to meet all the new staff. Of course, Jenn and Kim were the first to introduce themselves and to start flirting with them. It was good to have a few drinks with everyone though, I drank a bottle of Wolf Blass Yellow Label to myself, very nice. It was gone by 9:30pm lol. I was quite happy.

We've had two blackouts this week. The first one happened at about 1pm at work, so the trams stopped and everything with Hiedi and Kelsey on one tram and Kim on the other, thankfully they had no customers on the tram with them. We had to fire up the gas generator to get everyone that was at the bottom back, while Debbie ferried people up in one of the trucks. That was my first day of intensive tram training, I'm learning the ins and outs of how they work and what I do to make them go again if they happen to stop. So, it was a big day of learning for me lol. We had to close for the rest of the day, as we were told that we wouldn't get any power till about 4:30, so everyone was sent home. Kyle and Brenden came round as well as Kelsey and Ashley, so we all piled into their cars, Kim and Jen in with Kyle and Brenden, me and Andy with Kelsey and Ashley then Danny, Nate, Elbie, Hiedi in with Chris in his car and went for a drive out the Nahatlatch river (one of the rafting rivers), I thought it'd only take us a couple of hours, four hours later, we got back to res, so it ended up being a pretty long afternoon. Really nice and awesome views, but a very bumpy, dirt road with potholes everywhere. When we all got back, everyone headed down to the point for drinks, Kyle and Brenden were gonna camp there. Hiedi, Ebie and I stayed in the house though, watched some tv then went to bed.

Tuesday was shopping day, Kathy had a full car so Ken took Chris, Elbie, Hiedi and I aswell. We went for dinner at Kimshi, a japanese restaurant in Hope then to the grocery store, then Hiedi and I wanted dessert, so Ken took us to Dairy Queen and we each got a nice cold ice cream. Dairy Queen is so good.

The next couple of days were pretty uneventful. We watched the final Stanley Cup Playoffs for the ice hockey between Chicago and Philidelphia with everyone except Hiedi going for Philidelphia. So you can probably guess what happened, Hiedi and Danny made a bet that Phili would win, prize being a bottle of wine. Well, looks like Danny loses a bottle of his freshly brewed wine. Early night for me though, off to Whistler tomorrow, being picked up at 7:15am.

Kelsey and Ashley arrived at res and about 7:15 and we left pretty much straight away. Unfortunatly it was raining when we left. We stopped at Boston Bar to get petrol then we were on our way. We drove up to Lytton where we turned off the highway and headed for Lillooet, stopping at a couple of places along the way for some photo's. We stopped at the signs that told us how far we had to Whistler which was fun, thankfully, when we stopped, the rain wasn't too heavy. After Lillooet, we startet to head back down south to Pemberton the Whistler. We passed a cub bear along the way, we got out to take a photo, but then thought, mmm, the cub is alone, where is the mum??? We then got back in the car rather quickly.

When we made to Whistler around 12pm, we couldn't check in as our room wasn't ready yet, so we went for a wonder around Whistler Village. I bought my normal souviners and also a pair of Billabong flip flops. We also found where we had to be for the zip line the next day. After about 4 hours walking around and seeing basically everything, we decided to head back to the hotel to see if we could get into our room, it was quarter to four and check in was four, we still couldn't get in so we waited in the lobby in the hotel for 20 minutes only for them to tell
On Top of the WorldOn Top of the WorldOn Top of the World

Elbie, Andy, Kelsey, Me, Nate &Danny
us that the room still wasn't ready so they put us in a different room, unfortunatly there was no upgrade. We had bought some alcohol to drink in the room before going out, Ashley's only 18 and the legal drinking age here is 19. So we watched a movie on the tv, half of Sex and the City and had a few drinks. Around 7pm, we started getting ready for dinner, we decided on going to a restaurant called 21 and they had a special that was 3 courses for $35. I was so excited, I was able to order Lamb Chops, I haven't seen any lamb at all since being in Canada. So I ordered Tiger Prawns for my entree then the Lamb Chops for my main and a warm chocolate brownie with ice cream and cream for dessert. Plus I had two cocktails, not a bad night for 50 bucks. After dinner we headed back to the hotel and basically went straight to bed, we were all pretty tired.

ZIPLINE DAY We were so excited about doing the zipline that we all woke up early hoping that it would be a half decent day. It was still a bit overcast but at least it wasn't raining. We went to breakfast at a bakery, we all had crepes, they were so good. We then went and checked in for the Zipline, we were early so we had to wait about half and hour. The time finally came though, we met our leaders, Yann from Australia, Jen from Ontario and Katelyn, not sure where she was from. So we got all harnessed up and headed to the practice line so we knew what to do, everyone into the group were hanging on the rope except for me. I let go of the rope and was yelling all the way down. Once we were finished on the practice line, it was time to head to the actual zipline course, we piled into a mini bus and drove ten minutes up into the mountain. We were given and a little bit of an introduction and then it was play time. The first one was a pretty short one, about 200 feet or so. Then we moved to the next line which was about 900 feet. That was the one we had our professional photo's done, unfortunatly on mine, I had my
As Far As We WentAs Far As We WentAs Far As We Went

Kyle and Brenden at the front with Heidi in the back ground
back to the camera the entire time. So I was a little dissappointed in the pics. The next line was 1100 feet, that was awesome. After that, we were up to our last line which we had the option of going upside down, so me being me tried to do it upside down, unfortunatly, I ended up goin down on my back, oh well, it was fun noe the less. We then headed back to town to see how our photo's turned out. Only one of mine was with me facing the camera and that was just as I had stepped off at the start. So that was the one I bought.

After getting a bottle of water, we then headed to the Peak to Peak Gondola. We were lucky enough to get our tickets half price as we worked in the same industry and we agreed to bring back some brochures with us. So after giding the ski lift to the top of the mountain that took about half an hour, we rode the peak to peak from Whistler Mountain to Blackcomb Mountain which took about 11 minutes one way, we just stayed on the gondola and went back to Whistler as it was getting a late in the afternoon and we still had to drive back home. I was a little bit dissappointed, there was no one on the Gondala talking about Whistler, pointing things out or anything, no music or anything, we just sat there taking in the amazing view. I know I was looking at Whistler village, but no idea what lakes I was looking at. So we got back on the ski lift and rode back down to village. I've never seen so many BMX riders in my life, there were so many of them in Whistler of all ages. So once we were at the botton, we went to the grocery store and bought some water and snacks for the drive back. We drove through Squamish and passed through Horseshoe Bay, where the ferries go to and from. We stopped and Shannon Falls which were really nice. Then onto Vancouver, we stopped in at Kelsey and Ashley's Aunt and Uncle's place to pick something up, they were really nice, then went to Moxie's in Surrey for dinner. Then it was time for home. It was about nine thirty when I walked in the door, and I was stuffed, we did so much in two days, especially on the friday.

It was back to work the next day, I wore three quarter pants as it was mean't to be a nice day, I was so excited, the sun was out all day. Kim was funny, at the start of the day, she was complaining that she was cold, mean while, I was standing there in a t-shirt and three quarters soaking up the sun. A few hours, she was comlaining that it was too hot. It was about 25 degrees lol. Brian said she would wouldn't last if she found that day hot, it's only gonna get hotter. Unfortunatly after that it got cooler again, dammit. Where is this hot weather Brian promised me???

On Monday night, we had our long awaited volleyball game against Kumsheen Rafting. We all piled into the trucks after work and headed the forty minutes to the rafting resort. We had some dinner which we supplied from work then it was into the game to try and win the cup. Heidi, Chris and I were cheer leaders, so before I left work, I made us all pom poms, Heidi and I had fun cheering. Unfortunatly, after a very close game, we lost. We had a few playful games after that, we mixed up the teams and had some fun. On the way home, I saw my first black bear along the side of the road along with a brown cub, they were so cute.

All I wanted to do the next night was relax and not do anything, it was shopping night though, I needed some things, so we were taken into Chilliwack to the Superstore, which was cheaper then Coopers in Hope where we normally shop. It was a pain though, ther shop was really badly set out. I still managed to forget eggs. We didn't end up getting home to after ten and I went straight to bed, I can relax the next night.

I ended up working for four hours on my day off on Thursday, we had four buses due so Brain wanted me to work cos I was the only one apart from him of course, that knew how to ring in groups. We ended up with five buses though as one called that day to say they were coming. I hung around after work so I could use the internet and came back home with everyone else.

My only day off this, I slept til 11:30am and woke up with two dead arms, I was laying on them, I felt as if I had no arms, was a very weird feeling. Time for laundry and relaxation. Spent most of the day writing my blog and watching TV.

The last few days, I haven't really been up to much, just working and home, talking to everyone at res. Brian is off for the next few days, so I get to run the show at the Upper Terminal, wish me luck lol.


Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb