The End Of The Territories And On To BC


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Fort Nelson
August 10th 2011
Published: August 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Ft LiardLeaving Ft LiardLeaving Ft Liard

As you can see I am leaving Ft Liard. You will notice the sign; the town is way down in the valley. Notice how steep the climb was to get out of Ft. Liard.
Monday August 8, 2011
Beyond the NWT to BC

I got an early start this morning but somehow I lost my early start by going into Ft. Liard. I needed supplies and for very small town they had everything spread way out. I also put the bike through a power-wash to get all that mud off the gears and chains. I also needed breakfast but by the time I got to that it was lunch.

There is one killer hill getting out of Ft. Liard and the rest of the NWT seemed to be all big climbs. If I only had a case of beer to celebrate the end of all this soft loose gravel at the border. I actually got lucky; of the 40 km’s I had left to the BC border the last 20km’s were hard packed. But there was still a lot of climbing all of a sudden to get out of the NWT’s.
I came across a heard of bison early in my ride. For all I know they are the same ones from yesterday evening. They were way off the road in a cleared area mostly behind trees so I passed without incident. I also came across a lone bison closer to the border but he gave me no hassle. I also saw my second bear or I should say second with the (cub) third bear since entering the NWT. So between all the excitement yesterday with bison and 2 bears today I guess I won’t complain too much.

Not too much traffic today but I seem to eat a lot of dust from the few vehicles that did pass.

BC has been a whole lot of trees with a few climbs. Traffic is very minimal; mostly just pick-up trucks working at natural gas wells. I only know about because after inquiring about where I was or was not in relation to the NWT border and Ft. Nelson (my next destination) with some of the workers; I learned about a camp that they all stay at. This would be the exact same type of camp that I stayed at during my seismic work. Long story short (or yata yata if you know what I mean) is I am camped at the camp and will stay for breakfast. All I can say is the shower was glorious. I rode 100km’s today under beautiful skies.


Tuesday August 9, 2011
Alaskan Highway

I didn’t sleep as well as I would have liked. The generators from the camp kept me up for a bit. I also went to bed late and had to get up at 7 am so I didn’t miss breakfast. I had forgotten that the real world works and breakfast does not run all day.

I woke up to clouds and cool. The clouds never amounted to rain and it was not until midafternoon did things finally warm up. There was a few very long descents into valleys but did I ever have a lot of climbing to do today. Kilometers and kilometers of climbing. I finished the Liard Highway but I am totally exhausted. The late night, lack of sleep and early morning did not help but I am wiped. I am 10 km’s into the Alaskan Highway and have pulled off near a creek for the night and am in my tent by 8 pm. I rode 110 km’s today. I have changed my mind about Ft. Nelson and am going north again towards Watson Lake, Yukon. Ft. Nelson was a small side trip
Mama BearMama BearMama Bear

I don't think she ever noticed me
to get supplies but after taking stock and finding out there is a few small stores along the highway I know I won’t starve if I don’t go to Ft. Nelson.

There was nothing exciting on the highway today. Traffic continued to be mostly gas works and trucks. The Alaskan Highway seems to be very rough chip pavement.


Wednesday August 10, 2011
Running Out Of Food Already

I woke up to nice and hot today but my feet seem to be heavy like lead. I moved fairly slow today and I didn’t really have too much wind to speak of. I think I have been pushing it a bit these last few days. I had some climbing as well. But one mountain was one of my biggest since the beginning of this whole ride. It pretty much killed me. It was almost an 8 km coast down the other side. But the damage was done I was pretty much wiped for the day.

I met my first cyclists since Jasper or about 2000 km’s of riding. That is a lot of riding since running into another cyclists. It was an older couple that had not been on the road that long. I met them on one of last hills of the day. They said it was the last hill before the campground I was heading to. This was a good thing because it was all I could do from dying right on the spot. The also said the owner of the park was a bit of an ass and they were right.

The weather is changing; rain clouds as I set up my tent and am making super under a covered picnic table area just in case the rain comes before super is done.
These hills have been more work than I anticipated and I have gone through my food too quickly. The park I am staying at did not have the supplies I thought they would. Food will/is actually going to be an issue I think. I may have to asking other campers for food.
I only road 75 km’s today and it nearly killed me. The next few days will be kind of interesting to see how I figure out how to get to Watson Lake with almost no food. Only about 400 km’s of riding up and down mountains. I should have gone to Ft. Nelson after all.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

A Last Look BackA Last Look Back
A Last Look Back

You will notice I have done a bit of climbing to get this high.
My Vintage License PlateMy Vintage License Plate
My Vintage License Plate

The RE stands for how you pronounce my name. The 2900 represents the 2900 km’s I have ridden to get the NWT border from Calgary. I don’t make these things up.
Welcome To BCWelcome To BC
Welcome To BC

Not a very big sign "For The Best Place On Earth"
A Look South to BCA Look South to BC
A Look South to BC

It is nice to be able to coast the bike for awhile instead of pedal.
An Unusual BridgeAn Unusual Bridge
An Unusual Bridge

A single lane bridge across the Nelson River with a wooden plank surface.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb