Day 6 (July 3, 2008) Start at Mile 0-Dawson Creek


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dawson Creek Alaska Highway SignDawson Creek Alaska Highway SignDawson Creek Alaska Highway Sign

Never one to pass up an opportunity to show my grandchildren a picture of their grandfather on his mighty steed on his Alaskan Adventure at the official start of the Alaska Highway.
Good evening all,

I know you have not heard from me for several days. Lack of WiFi in the great Northwest is few and far between. I am now realizing how much time it takes to pull this off and keep everyone posted. And thanks for all the great remarks. I would love to answer each and every one, but suffice it to say, I love reading your remarks and posting to the travel blog.

I stayed at the Dawson Aurora Suites last night to get caught up on laundry and blog to that point...great to sleep in a bed. Now, I'm not complaining about sleeping on the ground because it seems to be good for my back! Did you know they serve continental breakfast from 4:00 to 10:00 am? Sun started to come up around 4:30 am.

I also want to say a big hello to two sisters that I met at the Mile O milepost who were on their way to Valdez to met their spouses. Marilyn Frost (Spokane) and Carol Albright (Lewiston, ID) were two gutsy ladies to undertake the 1500 mile journey by themselves. You go ladies. It was great to chat for a
Pointing NW to AlaskaPointing NW to AlaskaPointing NW to Alaska

Here's a great picture of Dawson Creek and the road leading into town. This rusty image of a surveyor has directed probably millions of travelers to the Alaska Highway.
few minutes and thanks for the compliments. Hope your journey was safe.

Incidentally, the speed limit on the Highway is 100 km/h or 62 mph...sometimes it seemed like I was poking along and other times it was way too fast for the road. I am getting into the roll on throttle in the mountain driving. That's what a motorcyle is made for.

Gravel is a huge factor and one I have to always watch out for. Saw two moose...dead. Did not want to see the vehicle that hit them. Saw some live moose later on along with buffalo, elf and many bears along the side of the road.

Okay, let's get started on the Alaska Highway, focal point for this entry. I will try and get some facts and figures to try and comprehend the huge endeavor the military undertook. Gen Spry, I know you would love to study more about the undertakings on this 1500 mile road. I have a great book and DVD you can look at when I return.

ALASKA HIGHWAY:

The bombing of Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941 was to produce one of the great engineering feats of the century.
Two sisters heading down the road to ValdezTwo sisters heading down the road to ValdezTwo sisters heading down the road to Valdez

Two sisters, Marilyn Frost (Spokane, WA) and Carol Albright (Lewiston, ID) pose for a "grip and grin" in front of my Goldwing. They were heading to Valdez to meet up with their husbands. Marilyn had driven the Alaska Highway 13 times! WOW. Thanks ladies for some great conversation and I hope your trip was successful.
The west coast of the US and Canada and all of Alaska lay open to a possible Japanese invasion and the defense of the area was of paramount importance in the early days of the war. By February 1942, President Roosevelt authorized the US Army (Corps of Engineers) to proceed and on March 2, 1942 the first train carrying troops arrived in Dawson Creek. Total troop strength was over 11,000 soldiers. Finally on October 20, 1942 troops working south from Alaska and north from Whitehorse met at mile post 588. Thus the pioneer road had been completed in record time (eight months and 12 days). Basically it was a one lane road that was later reconstructed to widen to 26-32 feet. Cost was $138M and placement of 133 bridges and 8,000 culverts. Enough for history.

Well about 150 miles into the highway it really started to rain and downpour. I had all my rain gear on, but after a while you just need to take a break and get out of the elements. I was near a really beautiful lake called Lake Muncho. It was impossible to pitch a tent in this downpour so I came across a place
What a great way to spend a rainy night!What a great way to spend a rainy night!What a great way to spend a rainy night!

The Double G Service cabins near Muncho Lake provided a great nights rest after riding in the rain for several hours. It was simply great. Now I don't know if JoLynn would have liked it!
called Double G Service to get out of the rain. Well I ended up paying $51.00 for a rustic cabin and meeting the proprietor, Jack Gunness, a crusty old drill sergeant type that had a great story to tell.

He wanted to make his fortune along the Alaska Highway and came to the area in 1977 with the intention of staying only two years....31 years later he is still there. According to Jack, the road was still gravel in the 70s and people were always breaking down. He did a pretty brisk business. Then the cost of fuel skyrocketed and many roadhouses died out. You can still see "closed" signs at many businesses. He said RV would come by in 50-60 unit caravans headed up North.

He's run a cafe, hotel, bakery, is the postmaster, and weather service reporter as well as give boat tours on Lake Muncho. He produces his own electricity, burns over 100 cords of wood a year to heat the place, and just all around handyman.

He serves the best breakfast for about $12 with some of the best bacon I have ever had.

Well, it was a long day but one
Jack Gunness-Double G Service at Muncho LakeJack Gunness-Double G Service at Muncho LakeJack Gunness-Double G Service at Muncho Lake

From first look Jack Gunness looks pretty hard to get to know, but after a while he was showing me around his little piece of the world that he has been operating for 31 years. He is known for miles around for his bakery and cookies and they were very tasty. His breakfast is all made from sratch and the hash browns and bacon were awesome. Thanks Jack.
that might seem like it was headed to being a dull day....Jack changed all that and I could have visited with him for hours. What a story he has to tell.

Until next entry, I'm Rob Keller.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Jack Gunness-Weather reporterJack Gunness-Weather reporter
Jack Gunness-Weather reporter

Several times a day Jack takes the reading and emails them to the weather service. He's been doing it for as many years as he's lived there.
100 Cords of wood for one year100 Cords of wood for one year
100 Cords of wood for one year

Jack uses 100 cords of wood a year to heat the place with this outdoor wood burning stove. He produces his own electricity as there are no power grids available along the highway
Mike Ryan-Proud father of a SoldierMike Ryan-Proud father of a Soldier
Mike Ryan-Proud father of a Soldier

Mike Ryan (Great Falls, MT), a truck driver for Hi-Line Moving, drives from Alaska to the states every week moving families. He spends $1300 per day for diesel! But most important he wants to say hi to his son, Staff Sgt. Jesse Ryan and his wife who are stationed at Fort Polk. Sgt. Ryan, you have an father who is very proud of you. And thanks for your service to this great country.


5th November 2008

Nice post!
Hey there, Just finished reading your post on our place at Muncho. Your right, my dad is quite the character, and I still haven't heard all of his stories of his travels and the things he did. He's spent a long time building on what he started, and wanted to mention one thing. He actually wasn't even born in 1927, and I think he came up here in the late 70's to start his business. He was born in 1944, and still doing what he loves! Hope to see you drop in again someday! Cheers, Dave
8th November 2008

Thanks Dave for your correction
Dave, Thanks for taking time to read the travel blog. I went back and checked my notes and you are right...I had that your dad came to the area in 1977. It was a typo but thank you for taking time to write and correct. I have to say that next time I come through Muncho Lake, I am going to spend more time and have several of your dad's breakfast...still haven't had one better. Take care my friend.
4th July 2012
Jack Gunness-Double G Service at Muncho Lake

walmart driver
Hi jack, I sure do miss you. I am running way down south now, in arizona and california. Can't find anyone that cooks like or looks like you my friend. Hope everything is going well for you and all of your old regulers. I miss stopping to see you my friend.
21st January 2014
Jack Gunness-Double G Service at Muncho Lake

Double G and Jack
My wife and I spent an afternoon and night at Double G on our trip from Southern California to Alaska. Jack and his motel and restaurant were one of high lights of our trip. The room we stayed in was on the far right in the picture , what a great nights sleep in a very cozy room. Best of all in our stay was the breakfast, possible the best we ever had. Thank you Jack, we will see you again.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb