Day 7 (July 4, 2008) The Adventure Continues


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Terrace
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Muncho LakeMuncho LakeMuncho Lake

Also known to the First Nation (Native Amaericans) as "Big Lake". It is 7.5 miles long and is one of the largest natural lakes in the Canadian Rockies. There are many beautiful lakes along the Highway to enjoy.
Happy Independence Day all...we have so much to be thankful for.

I an so thankful for all service members this holiday as we celebrate our Nation's birthday. You are not forgotten and I am very proud of each and every one of you.

Today, after leaving Jack Gunness and the Muncho Lake area I pushed with a little more vigor toward Alaska. However, day two of rain fell in my tracks and after drying everything out the night before, it was already starting to get wet. My packed gear always has stayed dry, but my boots were not rainproof and after about one hour my feet we soaked and starting to get cold. Temps were hovering around 55-57 during the rain. You need to be extra vigilant in the rain as the roads get slippery and it is hard to distinguish where the potholes are as well as how deep. I took some hard hits but my suspension did its job.

Next town was Watson Lake...now, a lot of these small hamlets have their notoriety to fame but Watson Lake took the award today. The world famous Sign Post Forest is one of Watson's Lake best known attractions.
Entering Into Yukon TerritoryEntering Into Yukon TerritoryEntering Into Yukon Territory

Yukon is considered one of the Canadian Territories, much like our Puerto Rico. It has a saying "Larger Than Life" and Yukon is huge. It seemed like I kept riding and riding and it never ended. Very scenic area and many Canadians vacation in Yukon.
The "forest" was started in 1942 by a homesick U.S Army G.I. Carl K. Lindley of Danville, IL, 341st Engineers. While working on the Alaska Highway, he erected a sigh pointing the way and stating the mileage to his home. At last count there are over 65,000 sign posts. Gen. Spry, I tried to find an "illegally taken sign" from ND highway of city, but could not find one.

Oh, did I mention that I ran into rain again today..... Now I know this is the Northwest, but this is getting crazy. Oh, well, that's what the ride is all about.

Long day and I am starting to feel the effects of long days and a "tired butt" feeling.

When I went through the Sign Post Forest I had a pleasant surprise...the staff at the interpretive center had a cake wishing the US a happy birthday. It almost brought tears to my eyes as we have so much to be thankful for and even better, other countries recognize the sacrifice US Soldiers have made in the global war on terror.

Thanks for all who read the travel blog...please take time to read the comments from preceeding
Watson Lake - Sign Post VillageWatson Lake - Sign Post VillageWatson Lake - Sign Post Village

The world famous Sign Post Forest is one of Watson's Lake best known attractions. The "forest" was started in 1942 by a homesick U.S Army G.I. Carl K. Lindley of Danville, IL, 341st Engineers. While working on the Alaska Highway, he erected a sigh pointing the way and stating the mileage to his home. At last count there are over 65,000 sign posts. Gen. Spry, I tried to find an "illegelly taken sign" from ND highway of city, but could not find one.
entries and I post them as well. If anyone would like to recommend my travel blog on the website, please feel free to do so. Not sure how it is done, but some of you might be able to crack the code.

Rob



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sign Post ForestSign Post Forest
Sign Post Forest

Hard to believe there are over 65,000 signs posted since 1942! If I would have been thinking I would have gotten one from Fraine Barracks!
Village of Teslin OverlookVillage of Teslin Overlook
Village of Teslin Overlook

Teslin is a small village at Mile Post 804. Guys, it you want some great fishing/hunting (lake trout, chinook and chum salmon, ducks, geese, moose) then this may be the location. The lake is 78 miles long, 2 miles wide and 700 feet deep.
Guys riding the Highway just like me!Guys riding the Highway just like me!
Guys riding the Highway just like me!

I met up with two retired guys from LA riding some great BMWs to Anchorage. Joel Briggs and Don Mullin said they decided to ride the highway, "because it's here and we are both married to some great wives who gave us this opportunity and to get away." From the looks of things, they are having a great time.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb