Days 8 and. 9: Au Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
May 21st 2017
Published: May 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

With a cup of cappuccino in hand we left Montana and drove to the Canadian border. Maybe it should be called the Canada border, since Peggy told me not to say Canadian geese but Canada Geese ( I know we have Canada dry, well why not, Canada Club whiskey?! )
Border crossing was easy: main question was liquor content and then the "serious question" to which we were told the first answer only would count: firearms: As he listed every firearm, (Some of which I didn't even know existed,) we continued to answer "no" . I must admit I almost forgot what magazines referred to!
The first part of the drive into Canada at first made me feel like I was back in Prairieland… Boring, although, OMG, I did get to see a llama, some goats and sheep!
Then the beauty started: the Canadian Rockies ( or the Canada Rockies? I'll have to find out! ?) They are absolutely stupendous. They keep going and going, and I felt totally immersed as they surrounded me and I tell you I was in aw at their splendor and unmatched beauty. Silvery white glistening snow peaks reaching up to the sky gave me goosebumps. As we wended our way to our campsite surrounded by all this beauty imy euphoria quit on me suddenlysuddenlysuddenly. lLo and behold, our campsite was full and our three RVs had to separate for one night ... And we had no water hook up. ( for those of you who have never traveled in an RV all I can say is think of showers and bathrooms… ) thank goodness we would be allowed (can you believe it, ALLOWED!!!) To fill up with water on our second day…
The next day we headed off by shuttle to the train station and then to another shuttle and 40 minutes later we were at Lake Louise. Lake Louise is truly lovely even though it was mostly frozen. I didn't know that abutting the lake is a glacier, which of course never melts. Took some pictures, enjoyed The lake scenery and dared Peggy to put her feet in the water which of course she did! You know Peggy never goes back on a dare .
Then back to the shuttle and then back again to the train station (I have no clue where the train goes, though it must go someplace because we heard it at night )
Yay, ?SHOPPING, finally something I could really relate to! I could easily have spent hours strolling up and down those little streets but we agreed on one and a half hours. However, I did manage to buy a cool shirt with a Mapleleaf hologram celebrating Canada's 150 years ; in case you didn't know all the provinces finally hooked up together. Sorry I have no picture of downtown Banff, I was too busy shopping !
I am bummed leaving Banff tomorrow because I have seen no bears, no moose but only one rather homely mule deer.?



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb