Day 21 - July 6, 2010 - Red Deer, AB, CA


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Red Deer
July 6th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

OK!!!! Today was the day to cross the border into Canada. Upon arrival at the border crossing at 1pm we were interviewed by the young lady at the window who apparently had a rough night as she made it rough on us at the drive up window. I informed her that I was bringing into Canada a shotgun. She informed me to pull into the parking area and bring in the paperwork for the shotgun and our passports, NOT THE SHOTGUN!!! We entered the customs office and approached the counter where apparently the brother of the young lady (as they had the same disposition) informed us to leave our passports with him and have a seat. Once seated, a man on my left made a comment about my cap - - LSU!! He, it turned out; was from Gonzales, LA and had only been dealing with the Canada Customs since his arrival at the border on Saturday. An offense on his record from when he was 19 kept him in limbo as to getting admitted to Canada for a job he had with Shell Oil. After sitting for quite some time the young man called our name and we again approached the immigration counter. After a few questions, our passports were stamped "Admitted" and directed to the "Traffic" counter. SURPRISE!!!!! The young lady we had the pleasure of interacting with was now at this counter. WOW!! She asked if I had any other firearms in the motorhome, my answer = NO, Do you own other firearms, my answer = YES, How many?, my answer; I don't know, around 40., Have you ever had any handgun in the motorhome?, my answer = I have not transported any in the motorhome. After several more inane questions, she picked up the phone and requested a motorhome inspection - GUESS WHO'S????? She completed the paperwork and directed me to pay my $25.00 at another counter and return to her counter. I did, and she then directed me to door #3. Door #3 opened and I drove the motorhome, complete with LilTruk through door #3. The door closes and two border patrol officers directed us to vacate the motorhome and wait in an adjoining room which had glass wall facing the motorhome. The inspection went pretty quickly and we were on our way. We could not even tell anyone had been in the motorhome. Then we were off to Red Deer at 3pm. Oh, the guy from Gonzales; I don't know, but wish him luck!!!!
Saw a fox on the side of the road enroute to Red Deer, AB
Another new experience for us,,, we spent the night in a Wal-Mart parking lot.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th July 2010

Dad don;t give the time just say female dog!!!!!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb