Home Sweet Home!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lethbridge
April 10th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our journey from Koh Lanta to Bangkok felt like absolute luxury. There were beds with pillows and blankets on the train. I was situated beside a local family from Bangkok on the train and I enjoyed helping their five-year-old practice her English! So cute!

When we arrived in Bangkok, we bumped into Mani, one of our friends from Koh Lanta, and found accommodations with her. We found a simple, but clean little guest house away from the noise and chaos of Bangkok! We spent the last three days of our trip shopping and sightseeing.

We spent the first part of the first day shopping on Kao San Road and then we headed by sky train to MBK (the famous shopping centre). MBK was absolutely huge. I really love shopping but I couldn't even handle it! There were at least seven floors and each floor was packed with piles and piles of anything you can imagine. There was an entire floor just for cell phones and cell phone accessories! It was a little too overwelming for me... I much preferred the outdoor open markets!

We took the river taxi down the river to the Wat Pho temple where the giant reclining golden buddha is. We were with Mani, our Buddhist friend and so we actually went through some of the Buddhist rituals with her (like throwing all the coins in the bowls all lined up.) Then we went to a huge night market where I spent too much money.

The day of our take-off we woke up bright and early (4:45) and caught a taxi to the airport. After hours and hours of anticipation we reached Seattle where I devoured my first hotdog and glass of real milk. It is so strange being back in the western world. Simple things like crosswalks, hot/clean water, flushing toilets, lack of cockroaches, and western food seem like such luxury after being away from them for so long. From our cousins' place in Seattle we drove to Canada yesterday, and for the first time in two months I saw the Rockies with snow-tipped peaks!

I absolutely loved our journey and I have to admit that it was exactly the life-changing experience everyone said it would be. I would do it again after maybe two weeks of resting and reuniting with all my friends and family. However, currently I really cannot complain about my nice soft/clean bed and our endless supply of hot water....ahhh. Until my next trip, take care!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb