Surrounding Jasper


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
May 16th 2011
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well today was spent around the vicinity of Jasper and after sleeping in, I went to Bears Paw bakery for a fresh Apple Danish and coffee. Danish was superb, the coffee not so. This place is very popular with locals and there are 2 branches only 3 blocks from each other!

I made my way to the site of the Jasper Tramway and contemplated going up but the Aussie working there advised me not to as the clouds were rolling in and I wouldn't be able to see much. I actually got a decent view of Jasper township from the base station. Next I decided to check out Fairmont Jasper Lodge and saw that it was a rich person's bungalow accommodation. Lots of older wealthy people was all I saw and it was certainly quiet and quaint there. Lake Annette is just next to the Fairmont resort and boy was I glad I turned in there. Not a big lake by any chance but it was such a deep blue colour from the melted glacier waters that I was stunned. After seeing Lake Louise and Maligne Lake both frozen, the sight of turquoise water was absolutely breathtaking!

Next I made my way across to the other side of Jasper and about 5km away was Patricia Lake. Nothing too exciting about that one but Pyramid Lake was something else. It is the shadows of Mount Pyramid which towers over the Jasper area and is totally reflected by the waters of Pyramid Lake. Needless to say there were some awesome photo opportunities around this lake. It wasn't as blue as Lake Annette but it was certainly clean and clear.

That basically summed up my sight seeing of Jasper as it would rain for the rest of my time there. I settled on a Korean hotpot lunch which surprisingly was excellent - didn't think I would find authentic Korean in a tourist town but it was great. Went back to the hotel, did some reading, did laundry as there wasn't much else to do on a rainy day in Jasper. Went back out for dinner at Jasper Pizza and had some good hot wings and some decent wood fired pizza.

Tomorrow, I bid the Canadian Rockies goodbye and head to Edmonton.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb