Art Festivals and Oiler Fans


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
September 14th 2013
Published: September 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Kaleido FestivalThe Kaleido FestivalThe Kaleido Festival

The family arts festival is definitely something to go see!
I took the bus (after missing it twice) and found my way to 118th Ave for the Kaleido festival! I didn't even know it was going on to be honest and kinda stumbled upon it. My new friend, Reece, had invited me to watch his band, Bardic Form, preform at the Carrot Cafe, and just so happens the festival was going on, on that street! I got so lost at the bus station that ended up riding for 3 hours, getting caught up downtown, and having some guy ask "how many boyfriends ya got". But I finally found it, only catching the last song, but still heard the great tune! After Reece had packed up, we walked down the festival and saw so many cool venders and street performers. He introduced me to this funky hippy lady, one of the organizers of all the events! He had to leave though, so I explored on my own! There was a huge kaleidoscope that was human size, a solar panel over that baked cookies(I tried one, they were amazing!), men in fly costumes on wires bouncing off the side of a building, chubby belly dancers, henna, prostrate drawers using pencil crayon, rap battles,
Reece and the Hippy Lady Reece and the Hippy Lady Reece and the Hippy Lady

Two of the coolest people in Edmonton
bike powered dj, singers, a choir, and tons of art to be sold from all over the world! The place was amazing and I didn't want to miss anything! I got picked up and taken to Paige's house because we were going to the Oilers game that night! We took the bus and then the train and got to our seats just in time! The Edmonton Oilers were playing their rival, Calgary! They were winning 5-2 and some how Calgary came back with a major scoring streak and won the game. Good thing it was only a pre season game and didn't count! Paige and I definitely got to know each other better, and although we are very different in so many ways, we seem to get along!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The Giant KalaidoscopeThe Giant Kalaidoscope
The Giant Kalaidoscope

I remember playing with this thing as a kid, and now in jumbo size!? Craziness.
Solar Energy CookiesSolar Energy Cookies
Solar Energy Cookies

These delicious cookies are made with the special ingredient of the sun!!
Art Competition Art Competition
Art Competition

Cool artsy creations were all over the street, competing for some sort of prize!
Hippy LadyHippy Lady
Hippy Lady

This lady is so odd and unique, I love it.
sup dawgsup dawg
sup dawg

This old man is too cool.
Oilers Fans!Oilers Fans!
Oilers Fans!

Paige and I at the game!
Initial ScoreInitial Score
Initial Score

Before Calgary made a comeback...


29th September 2013

Festivals...
Too bad about the bussing mix-up, but happy to know you had a good time at the festival. Photos are wonderful. Looks like you've had terrific weather! Stay happy and healthy. xoxo Mom

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb