A Slight Misadventure


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
May 17th 2006
Published: May 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today a simple walk in a canyon didn't go as well as planned. For starters, the multiple forks in the trail helped us find our own canyon and not quite the one we intended. When we came to dead end (a cliff) we decided to descend and call it a day... but with the extra excitement of sliding down the river bed! This was James' great idea which did not go so well for me (non-coordinated Julie). Rather than jumping the rock pool at the end of the slippery slope, I landed right in it and twisted my ankle. If it weren't for the rocky floor I would have rolled around on the ground in agony like a madman. That would have to be the most pain I've experienced in my life and I expressed it very loudly to the surrounding wildlife. My ankle instantly doubled in size. James (aka the mountain goat) piggy-backed me to the car and we made our way to the hospital. The doctor looked at the size of the swelling and thought something was broken but after an X-ray it turns out I have a 3rd degree spain and torn some ligaments - no broken bones!! This has meant that James has been restored to chief breadwinner but hopefully not for too long! Sadly, my snowboarding season has prematurely ended - but only by two days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd May 2006

Gammy leg
Hey That's exactly what I did to my foot! But not sliding down a cliff!! Anyway I hurt it 2 months ago and it still hurts! So I hope your foot heals faster than mine :)
30th May 2006

Nice one JJ
You poor thing, hope it heals up quickly babe

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb