The countdown has started ....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
December 18th 2012
Published: December 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello and welcome to my blog... it's going to be a learning experience for me, having never done one before. I hope you enjoy the stories and photos and I look forward to hearing from you, even if it's only to whine that it's snowing and -30 outside.

It's remarkable how many details there are to take care of when you decide to take a break from your job to go traveling for an undetermined length of time - I don't remember it being quite so complicated when I took a similar break in 1998 (which I planned in 5 weeks). The "to-do" lists had "to-do" lists so I finally had to organize it all in a notebook by category - a thing of beauty! That's the accountant in me, I guess. Anyway, it's coming together, and my departure date of January 1 is just over the horizon. Tom the cat and the house are taken care of (thanks Brad!), flights are booked (mostly) and while not a single item has seen the inside of my backpack yet, I have lists of what I need to pack and a new camera lens to go buy!

The first stage of my journey will begin in Sri Lanka, after a fairly ugly 51 hour transit from Calgary to Colombo, via Los Angeles, Tokyo and Singapore. It sounds worse that it will be, as 20 of those hours are a layover in Singapore, which I haven't visited since 1996, when I was there with my sister. One of my uncles is temporarily working in Sri Lanka, so I'm looking forward to seeing George (and Maria briefly) very early the morning of January 4th. Nothing like travelling half way around the world to visit family who live in Vancouver. After an organized tour in Sri Lanka, I'll have a few more days with George before heading to New Delhi, India. In the interest of breaking myself into India gently (if there is such a thing), I'm travelling with a small group throughout Rajasthan for 3 weeks - the itinerary appealed to me, so I'll see how it goes - if nothing else, it will be a good introduction to the Indian rail system. I'll have 5 weeks on my own afterwards so I'm going to wing it and see what happens.

I do know that I need to be in the Maldives on March 24th to meet my friend Shelley for two weeks of of scuba diving. I think I made her year when I agreed to meet her the Maldives, the caveat being she has to bring my scuba gear and underwater camera over with her. We've planned a week at a resort on one of the northern atolls, followed by a week on a liveaboard dive boat called the Monsoon (the name better not be prophetic!). I suspect that after nearly nine weeks in India, the Maldives will be an oasis of calm. I'll be back home on April 9th if all goes as planned. Family, please make sure you have your tax return documents together before I get back!

The second stage of my journey is much more unstructured at this point. I know I will be in the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador (via Quito) for 10 days from April 16-25. I then plan to head for Colombia to exercise my brain for awhile, taking Spanish lessons for 4 to 6 weeks somewhere, and seeing the country. After Colombia, I'm heading north, back through Central America. Surf camp in Costa Rica appeals to me but time will tell.

At some point in the spring/early summer (and I'm trying not to think about it now), I will have to check in with the office to see what the job situation looks like...

Advertisement



21st December 2012

Wow, big adventure!!
Hi Marilyn! It's your tent buddy from Kenya/Uganda last year! Wow, what an incredible journey you're planning. I'm very jealous! Before I decided on Kenya/Uganda last year, I was very close to booking a trip to Sri Lanka and Northern India/Nepal instead. It's definitely on my to-do list for one day. But I know what you mean about easing yourself in gently.... India sounds like a fairly full-on country that requires a bit of stamina! Have a very Merry Christmas (hopefully not too much last-minute stressing!) and all the best for your travels! Oh, and while you are hopping planes through Asia on your way to Sri Lanka, you should be coming to visit me!! I'm living 2 hours north of Tokyo at the moment, teaching English at a junior high school.
22nd December 2012

Thanks Rose - I hope you have a great holiday season. Will keep in mind that you're near Tokyo- can maybe adjust my return flight home in April to arrange a quick visit
22nd December 2012

Hi
Got your blog open now. Dunno what was wrong. Sounds like another great adventure and looking forward to sharing it with you.We have slowed down a bit (at 78 I'm moving at a somewhat slower pace) We have done 96 weeks each with Drago tho but to make 100 may be a bit of a challenge.So have a great time and we will enjoy it with you.
22nd December 2012

Hi Gwen & Keith - best wishes for a happy holiday with your family! I'm sure you're basking in Aussie sunshine - it's -20C with -30 windchill today...
22nd December 2012

Merry Xmas and Happy New Year
Hi Marilyn -- sounds like a great adventure and it is wonderful that you are going to share your journey with all your friends and relatives. Take Care and Godspeed. Love Uncle Bill and Nicole
22nd December 2012

Best of the season to you and Nicole.
22nd December 2012

Very Jealous
Have a great time, look forward to following you. I loved my trip to India and look forward to going again some day... Hope the 51 hours goes well.
22nd December 2012

Hi Laura - Merry Christmas to you and your mom. I'd forgotten that you visited India a few years ago. Looking for any tips or tricks you might share!
23rd December 2012

Great news
I am so happy you are doing a blog. I have been following Twila Bakkers blog from Wales and it is so interesting to follow and look up info on the internet. I am very eager to hear about your adventures and follow you as you travel. Love and hugs Auntie Barbara
27th December 2012

Hi Auntie, I hope you enjoy the pictures and stories. I think it will be a great adventure.
23rd December 2012

Happy Travels
This is wonderful Marilyn - what a marvelous way to follow you along on your journey. Almost like being along with you - but not quite! lol! Save travelling and enjoy every moment. See you or at least talk to you in April!
27th December 2012

Hi Auntie, thanks for the good wishes. Hope to see you and Grandma on Saturday before I leave.
24th December 2012

How Exciting!
Hey, Marilyn - thanks for the link to your travel blog, I look forward to following along (I make a great armchair traveller). Have fun - and a very Merry Christmas to you and your family :)
27th December 2012

Hi Janet - hope you and Ron and a nice Christmas.
3rd January 2013

Fantastic!
Way to go Marilyn! You are truly living the dream.....wish you safe travels and very much looking forward to keeping up with your adventures through the blog.
3rd January 2013

The countdown is over & lift off is well underway...
...where in the world are thou today? Wishing you a safe and an awesome journey dear friend! Looking forward to reading all about the adventure...xo
9th January 2013

Happy, Healthy New Year!
Marilyn, so glad I spotted this blog; and to know that you are on exciting travels. Your plans sound great and exciting and FUN!!! and I am so glad that you are taking another break from work -that is so hard to do!!! Thinking of you as I sit at my MC desk; its rather cold accounting away...Happy and safe travels LOL Suannie
14th January 2013

Zippity Do Dah!
OH Marilyn....this is so fantastic! I wish I was experiencing it with you first hand, yet will travel with you vicariously on your blog. I highly recommend you take the train from New Dehli to Nepal. The people, culture and nature is amazing. I just spent 4 weeks there so have tips of things to do, see, experience. I cannot wait to go and maybe include India on the path. Breathe in every single moment! JVC The Room to Read 2013 calendar has not yet been updated: check it out for the possibility of visiting a school in India or Sri Lanka, or wherever your great adventure takes you! http://www.roomtoread.org/SiteVisits

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb