Holy Moly, Hong Kong, Here I Come!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This marks the ending of another summer in Calgary and the beginning of a summer overseas. I must admit, I'm a little bit anxious to go to Hong Kong by myself. I don't think I've ever been anywhere by myself other than exploring Calgary and even that has limitations.

It should be interesting.

So, where am I going and why am I going there?

I'm going to Hong Kong and Beijing for 6 weeks total with the Hong Kong Poly U Summer School and I'll be taking a course on Chinese language, history and culture. (That should be a sure fire A+ right? Let's cross our fingers). After that, I will be spending 4 weeks travelling to the Yunnan and Guangdong Province, at times as an independent traveller, at other times with a tour group.

That's my trip in a nutshell!

At the current moment, I'm madly packing my stuff away, choosing which parts of home I should lug half way across the world just so I won’t be too homesick. But judging from my pile of stuff, does my first aid kit, my Cantonese phrasebook, my Imodium really represent my home?

Well, the next time I update this will be in Hong Kong. I don’t think that it’s hit me that I’m going yet. It’s going to hit me like a train. Choo choo my friends, choo choo.



Advertisement



28th June 2006

i emailed you back...
i emailed you back, but i'm not sure if you'll be able to check that email. so i thought i'd write you here too, but how does china look so far? dirty, overpopulated, different?... but yea, my brother just got back from a trip like yours. he was taking manderin classes and learning chinese culture too. i'm interested now and want to do the same, traveling for school would be so much fun, i'm gonna see what i can get myself into. but anyways, hope everything is going good. the flight probably took a day and a half.... literally. but keep in touch, pullman says hi. and take care of yourself. cousin kevin

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb