The City Of Calgary


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 27th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The City Of Calgary

Hamilton could learn a lot from a city like Calgary. I have spent the last two days wandering some of the streets of the down town area and I would have to say this is a nice city for those who enjoy cities. Typically I do not fall in that category but I sure am happy about being stuck here instead of Hamilton.

I have spent the last two days researching and purchasing a bike for the next leg of my journey. I typically wouldn’t recommend this kind of purchase in such short of time, but I feel I have made good use of time and I feel a sense of success. I spent two days with a local bike shop and they have hooked me to my satisfaction. I think I have covered my bases and have acquired a bike that will meet my needs. I spent the last part of this afternoon packing my camping gear and other stuff in my panniers (bike bags) and trailer bag and everything fits good, with room to spare. I should have a few pics with my next blog post. Unfortunately my trusty backpack that has been with me for so many of my trips will not be coming with me.

I got the bike from a local bike shop called Lifesport and “Fraser” basically helped me alone for a solid two days to put everything together. I got the bike trailer from Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC) along with all my camping gear (back in Ontario). I can’t say enough about that store as well.

I have also experienced a hostel for the first time in my life and so far it is to my satisfaction as well. I share a room with 5-6 other guys. I have been fairly busy the last few days so I have not really gone out of my way to meet people but this is the place to meet people from all over the world. Last night was the first night I spent in a bed in a week. Go figure I woke up with a kink in my neck. I have also gone over a week without a beer. Definitely need to fix that situation.

Tomorrow I head to Drumheller, a little north east of Calgary to check out the Bad Lands. Expect to some great pictures from there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb