Ranchman & more


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
February 10th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, now it's already weekend again. Time really flies by.. I just don't want to count how many time is still left, it's just too little..

This week was just like most weeks, classes, sports (Actually, I also started playing squash here now, which is a lot of fun!! Ok, after the first time I had such sore muscles that I could barely walk the next day, but it's getting better 😊), etc.

The movie this Monday was a lot better than the last one, we've seen Kiss kiss bang bang, which I found really great. Wednesday we've been to the Battle of the Bands in Whiskey's, it was really nice to see some live music for a change, and most of the bands weren't bad at all! Thursday the Den, of course after standing in a line up, this time fortunately for 'only' half an hour.

But the most interesting story... The line dancing 😊! I know, back home you should at least be 55+ to do some line dancing, but over here it's a lot more common. We went to Ranchman's (an authentic Canadian bar, lot of cowboy hats, and even a fake bull on which you could ride) with a bunch of people, and actually it was quite fun. We started with some lessons, and then we could just enjoy an entire evening of country music. My favorite dance was that on 'save a horse, ride a cowboy', not only because it's so easy 😉, but mostly because I just love that song.. But, to be quite honest, although it was fun in the beginning, country is not really my kind of music. Line dancing is also nice for a while, but after some time it gets annoying that you can't just choose your own steps but you have to follow the 'rules'. So I was happy when they started playing some more 'popular' country songs, like Shaina Twain. Still, it was a typically Canadian experience that I wouldn't have wanted to miss..



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb