66 Acres of History


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
August 6th 2008
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Today I had to go to Heritage Park in Calgary for some research related to a volunteer position of mine. I've lived in Alberta all of my life, and I can't remember if I've been to Heritage Park before. If I have, it was about twenty years ago. Not that I haven't seen my share of 'living history' museums across the Canadian Prairies--if I have been to Heritage Park, I can't remember it because the memories are mixed in with memories of visiting other historic places, like Fort Walsh, Lower Fort Garry, Fort Whoop-Up and others.

When I was growing up, I was always a bit disappointed that both sides of my family had been in Canada for over 100 years, long enough to lose any traditions that were brought over from the mother country. But in the last twelve or thirteen years, I've developed a new appreciation for the roles my family played in settling the West, albeit not in Alberta, but in Manitoba. But the day-to-day experiences of early settlers in both provinces (then part of the Northwest Territory) would have been very similar.

My first stop for the day was the Dairy Barn, which has no cows,
Antique Ferris WheelAntique Ferris WheelAntique Ferris Wheel

One of about half a dozen rides on the antique midway
but does have a free pancake breakfast (with the cost of admission to the park) for the first hour of each day. I got there just in time to have some pancakes and sausages with a cup of coffee while I tried to make a plan for the morning. My research involved finding interesting things to include in a scavenger hunt, so I didn't really need a plan--just lots of pictures and notes.

After breakfast, I decided to check out the SS Moyie--a replica paddlewheel that sails around the Glenmore Reservoir (Calgary's water supply) for views of the sailboats, the Rocky Mountains, and the downtown skyline. It was a sunny, breezy day and after my boat ride, I was a little peckish, so I stopped by the bakery to see if they had any nut-free snacks (I'd heard the cinnamon buns there are fantastic). I wasn't too optimistic that the baking would be allergy friendly, but luck was on my side, and I was able to indulge. I sat outside on a bench to eat my sticky snack, after which I had to head over to a water pump to wash my hands.

One of the best surprises was Gasoline Alley. Originally built as a temporary exhibition, it has become one of the most famous exhibits at the park. It is inside a grand old red barn. I checked out the upper level first, which is full of antique gas pumps. I was going to just pass through, but when I stepped through the doorway into the barn, I stopped. I never expected that gas pumps would be beautiful, but they were. They towered above me, with glittering tanks and sculpted glass caps. Downstairs were some old cars, including a Brush car. I'll have to ask my dad about it, but it seems to me I heard that one of my great-great grandmothers was related to the Brush that built a car. Distant relation or not, he built a beautiful car.

After a few more hours exploring the Fur Trade, Ranching, Pre-Railway Settlement, and the Antique Midway (I didn't go on any rides because I couldn't be bothered queueing up with the families), I headed back to the Railway Town and got on the Steam Train for a break from walking. The train circles the park, so it was a chance to see if I'd missed anything or not. I had indeed missed checking out the discovery oil rig, a replica of one of the rigs used to explore for gas in the Turner Valley area, about forty years before Leduc No. 1 (the oil well that set the foundation for Alberta's economic prosperity). I'm amazed they found anything, the drilling technology was so rudimentary. It was definitely hit-and-miss, more miss than hit.

By this time, I was peckish again, so I popped into a snack shop for a hot pretzel and some frozen lemonade to tide me over until I got home. I didn't check out the Ice Cream Parlour, which I've heard has really good treats--I had to save something to savour next time.

I didn't expect to be so impressed with Heritage Park. The people working there, all of them dressed in period clothing, are really friendly, and know their history, at least for the specific exhibit they work in. Most of the buildings are authentic, but even the replicas are really well done. It turns out, it is a great place to spend a few hours on a summer day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 25


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Glittering tankGlittering tank
Glittering tank

Clear Glass tank for seeing the gas before pumping it into the car
School DaysSchool Days
School Days

These children are attending a day camp dressed in period clothes
Grain ElevatorGrain Elevator
Grain Elevator

I remember when these used to stand in every prairie town, but this style of elevator has become a thing of the past.
Alberta BakeryAlberta Bakery
Alberta Bakery

Where they have delicious cinnamon buns
Burns BarnBurns Barn
Burns Barn

Big barns like this were a status symbol 'back in the day'


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 130; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb