Back Home...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
December 1st 2005
Published: December 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

I will miss the foodI will miss the foodI will miss the food

Baguettes, really can't be duplicated anywhere else.
Aren't I unpleasantly surprised to see the weather has turned for the worst, and it's -20°C out here.

I guess considering the weather that I have seen in Spain, France and Germany, it's not too much of a shock.

Let's see, I wandered around Frankfurt for a couple hours getting on trains with directions Hauptewachte and that type of thing... It was kind of freaky walking around and not knowing hardly any German except for Gudentag and Danke but I managed to buy some chocolates and weird euro shoes and I was on my way home. I never made it to the christmas village as my wandering time in Germany lasted all of an hour and a half, add to the fact that it was freaking cold out there, and I essentially visited the indoor, and warm shopping centre.

Wow, was it ever nice to fly home Business Class! I was in the Lufthansa Business Class Lounge for about an hour before my flight, dining on weird german snacks (gummy bears, wine gums, peanuts, pickles, hot peppers and pretzels) and all the free booze that you can imagine. A nice calm 10 hour flight home Business Class felt
The Eiffel TowerThe Eiffel TowerThe Eiffel Tower

Just can't find places like this at home
great too, as I was able to dine on Steak, Prawns, Champagne, Ice Cream, Cookies and all sorts of good and free stuff.

Before ending off, I thought I would answer some of your questions that you all left me in the comments section:

1. I was not able to bring you all any pet camels. They took them away at customs.
2. Some of the guys were kind of pogi in Spain and France, as they dressed well, but for the most part all the oil men in Yemen were older, so I didn't notice.
3. I did bring back a few weird pepsi/7up cans, along with the Fanta, they added like 10 pounds on my luggage.
4. No lie, LOTS of women have that haircut. Enough for me to notice that it is a trend over there. I said a prayer at the cathedral for their hair.
5. I did eat crepes in Paris, banane avec Nutella. Delicious!

Thanks to all of you who were keen on reading about my journeys though Yemen, Arab Emirates, Spain, France and Germany for the past 2 and a half weeks! It was really a blast, a great learning
Smoking is cool!Smoking is cool!Smoking is cool!

Maybe I won't miss the constant smoking everywhere. This lady looks so glamorous on the cigarette machine, but when you look closely, she's got bad wrinkles and yellow teeth. How chic!
experience, and good practice of the little/decent knowledge of French, Spanish, Arabic and German!

Thanks to Sarah and Connor who were so kind and great hosts to me in Spain!

Stay tuned, as the blog will start up again in 3 weeks! I'm off to the Philippines for 3 weeks, so there will for sure be lots of fun/funny/sketchy stories to tell.

Advertisement



1st December 2005

Baguettes
YOu are so adorable in that pic of you eating the baguette, You have that sneaky,content look. Hmmmm, I know someone else who looks like that in all her food pictures......who could it be? could it be me? Glad you are home safe and sound. When do you leave for the P.I.? I will be in calgary dec22-jan10 and fruing that time I will bein vegas Jan5,6,7.
2nd December 2005

smoking IS cool
i AM cool

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb