Baguettes all around!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 29th 2005
Published: November 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My Love Hate Relationship with Paris !!!

Sorry about the shortness of the last entry, as the keyboards are one of the many things I did not like and also went wrong while here!!! This place is probably one of the 10 places in your life you should go to, but I understand how some people could have a love hate relationship with this place. It changed for me like every minute!!! Here are some of the highlights and lowlights of the trip.

Item 1. Freaking Cold Weather
We were unpleasantly surprised to see the some of the coldest weather I have seen anywhere this year; colder than at home! I could see my breath, my gloves were NOT warm enough and the cold just went straight through my pants…Love Paris: 0, Hate Paris 1.

Item 2. The openness and beauty of the City
Okay, even though walking around was way past uncomfortable, you can’t help but see that this city is like no other. Too much history here to overlook. EVERY building had character, was hundreds of years old and was more art than practicality… Love Paris: 1, Hate Paris 1.

Item 3. The Chicken Incident
My first baguette sandwich in Paris was at this little corner café. It looked like every other corner café, but that was okay. However, the roast chicken sandwich looked like the chicken was raw!! I sent it back, she said nothing was wrong, and I ate it begrudgingly hoping not to get food poisoning. I didn’t, but the moment was still ruined. Love Paris: 1, Hate Paris 2.

Item 4. French Tim Hortons
After Sarah’s first I hate Paris incident with the losing fight with a gigantic puddle of mud, we needed some pastries to make us feel better. We ended up at a place called le petit dorree or something, and looked like a tim hortons but French, and ended up with awesome pastries and coffee. Warmed us right up. Love Paris: 2, Hate Paris 2!

Item 5. Further cold
Was this place ever going to get warm? I was really uncomfortable now… Love Paris: 2, Hate Paris 3

Item 6. Free tickets to the Modern Art Museum
Would it be worth it to see this museum with only an hour and a half to closing? Yes, thanks to two nice fellows who gave us their used tickets for the day…Love Paris: 3, Hate Paris 3

Item 7. Hotel Marignan and the Breakfast
This little hostel had a nice man and his brother running it, so kind and what a great room for 15 euros a night. We had BAGUETTES for breakfast. Man, did that ever get us in the mood for sightseeing at the Louvre!!! Love Paris: 4, Hate Paris 3!

Item 8. The Louvre
Too much history to see at this place, but a little tidbit… the Mona Lisa was just okay, but there was sooo much history that we could only touch on. I loved seeing the Venus de Milo though, and it was so interesting to know that she was probably painted at the time of her first sculpting, and was adorned with jewels… Love Paris: 5, Hate Paris 3!!!

Item 9. The Restaurant
Word to the future visitors… restaurants are not always open on Sunday. Our first two choices taught us that the hard way.. We ended up eating at this one place and can’t remember the name cause I’m still mad, but the waiter could see we were not from here and patronized us the whole dinner even though we spoke French to him. The food was good, but might have been better without the snarky comments. Love Paris: 5, Hate Paris 4

Item 10. The Eiffel Tower
Even though I am afraid of heights and there were an entourage of people trying to sell us glowing Eiffel towers from 3 blocks away, it is definitely still a sight. On the hour it would start sparkling, and was that a sight!!!! Such breathtaking views, freaking cold, and funny ladies who had such bad height fright that they couldn’t even get to the top on the elevator, it was a highlight. Love Paris: 6, Hate Paris 4

So, despite all the weird stuff that happened to us and all the mean French people along the way, we did meet some super nice French people who were always helpful and kind, and I don’t think I could ever hate this place. I did learn though, that my French is better than I thought, and all that I learned in school is not lost. I can order food en Francais with the best of them.

My next entry will probably be back in Barcelona. Thanks for reading!! Vive la France!!


Advertisement



29th November 2005

Crepes...
Were you able to have any crepes there? That was my favorite food, nutella and banana crepes. Mmm mmm mmm... Love hearing your stories, take care!
29th November 2005

The boys speak french...c'est tres romantique, n'est pas? love 7 hate 4!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb