Down in cowtown


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
November 2nd 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CalgaryCalgaryCalgary

View of downtown.
I'm here in Calgary, the first leg of my Alberta trip, to visit the sites and meet with my cousin before heading off into the mountains right next door to hopefully get lost.

Ah Calgary, home of tasty dead animal meals such as bison, elk and yummy moo cow. Land of the Canadian cowboy, crazy right wing oil tycoons, and not as cheap as you might think goods. I swear Nova Scotia has cheaper everything, from booze to food. Sure the gas is low priced and there isn't as much tax, but damn, 10 bucks more for a bottle of rum?

Where was I now...oh yes, the food. The Bison, or Buffalo, is a strangly cute and furry lump of an animal that makes a very tasty burger as I experienced in a brewary pub called the Big Rock Brewary. Oh man what a meal. I gotta see if the stores back home have some. Now I know why the white man almost slaugheted them all to extinction when we first rampaged the lands; cause they are nummy! I had some elk steak somewhere else I'm sure, and I've always been a big fan of four legged animals. I'm
CalgaryCalgaryCalgary

More of downtown cowtown.
not big on hunting, I'm not that type of guy, but being a carnivorous man I can appreciate the suttle gamey tastes that comes from chowing down on a medium rare steak cown to perfection.

Well to stop this from turning into an inpromptu food critque of Calgary restaurants (go to Devino Wine and Cheese Bistro downtown!! It fricken rules), I'll focus on other things. Downtown cowtown is great and lively; perfect for a single guy like me. Unfortunately I was only in town for one night, so I was just doing the tourist thing. Oil has definately made this city pleasing on the eyes, yet no amount of money can stop the freezing cold winds coming down from the mountains. Holy crap can it gets cold fast. I could almost see myself moving out here, mainly because of the large amount of jobs, but the housing market is a bit insane. For the price of a simple two story house with no yard, I can build a large wizard turret with an optional hobbit hole back home.

Ok I couldn't help it. If you are in town, or most major Alberta places, scout out a chocolate store
Ladeedaa part of CalgaryLadeedaa part of CalgaryLadeedaa part of Calgary

Kensington Wine Market! Me old man's back is in the pic too.
called Bernard Callebaut. Each little ball of chocolate magnificance is an orgasm for the tongue. Yum. Being a chocophile with zero withpower is a very dangerous place is an upscale chocolate store I tell you.

Well that is about it for this leg of the trip. Onwards to Banff!!

Oh yes I forgot, bonus points to the nice airport as well. Since I loath flying nowadays, it is nice to have your luggage greeted by velociraptors and other cool exhibits.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

CalgaryCalgary
Calgary

Stadium where big stuff happens.
CalgaryCalgary
Calgary

Downtown at night.
CalgaryCalgary
Calgary

Downtown at night.
CalgaryCalgary
Calgary

Downtown at night.
CalgaryCalgary
Calgary

Big buildings unhuh.
Ski jumpSki jump
Ski jump

Only lunatics would go off this.
Outside CalgaryOutside Calgary
Outside Calgary

Nothin' but bails of hay and animals.
Outside CalgaryOutside Calgary
Outside Calgary

Close to the mountains!
Outside CalgaryOutside Calgary
Outside Calgary

There they are!
FamilyFamily
Family

Blurry pic of my cousin and his little dude. Beer for everyone!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb