Snow In July / A Murderous Second Climb


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
July 9th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday July 8, 2011
Snow In July

I woke up to overcast and light rain. Crap, not the way start to Jasper. But at $38.00 a night I was not staying and the weather did not look promising for a few days. Better to move on and look for cheaper accommodations. I declined a ride to the infamous Lake Louise today. Five kilometers to the lake and 5 kilometers back. That’s a lot of riding to maybe see nothing special because of the overcast weather. Besides isn’t Lake Louise for romantic lovers and the Japanese?

The weather is frustrating. The light rain was not so bad; it’s the clouds they hide the mountain tops and I can tell I am missing some great photos. That part is very frustrating for me. The day is a constant climb; always climbing; but it’s not too bad; nice and easy. I am not taking any pictures of the mountains today; the photos would be disappointing. I am just concentrating on the climbing. But then it started to get colder; and then I noticed little flakes in the rain. By the time I hit Bow Lake snow flurries are blowing like crazy. I am in a blizzard.

There is a fancy lodge at the lake. I inquire about setting up my tent. They say that they are not set up for tenting. What does that mean? But they offer stranded cyclists 50% off their rooms. As a courtesy to their other guests they can’t go lower in price. There price per room is $300.00. At 50% off or $150.00 I think I will keep riding.

There are 2 climbs to get to Jasper (I found out). I still had to finish my first climb of this journey. But because I had been steadily climbing all day I never really felt the climb. I don’t know what views I was missing. Guess I will just have to come back here again someday. It was going down over the other side. My hands got so cold coasting into the wind I had to make numerous stops to try to warm them up. Thank goodness for the $1 pair of gardening gloves I had grabbed at a dollar store in Calgary; saved my life. 15 km’s further down the road (from the lodge), the snow stopped I found a camp site (Waterfowl Lake –overflow) and things had even cleared up enough to even make dinner.

Only rode about 50 km’s today, mostly with my nose to the pavement, making my first climb and fighting the weather.





Saturday July 9, 2011
A Murderous Second Climb

This morning I woke to pitter patter of light rain. It was only lightly raining; my mind said it was time to move on, my body would not move. Better to stay in a dry tent then get wet. I ended up falling into a deep sleep and dreamed a bear was trying to get into my tent. When I awoke the rain had stopped and there was no bear. There were still clouds but I sensed the weather was trying to improve. The clouds were a little higher and the pavement of the road was dry. Because the clouds had started to raise it would allow me to continue to take pictures.

The day was cool but not as cold as yesterday. But as I continued to further into the valley towards the North Saskatchewan River the temperatures did get a bit colder. I had an expensive late lunch (at the restaurant - Saskatchewan River Crossing) before moving on. Unlike yesterday there was not the consistent climb; which concerned me. I knew I had a second climb and as the day wore on I knew it would hit hard. As the day wore on, it also got a little cooler.

And then the climb started right at the end of the day as the day got it’s coldest. I was forced to make many stops during my climb. Mostly just to try to regulate my body temperature. It was getting very cold (from the wind) but I was sweating from the climb. This is not the combination that I like. For the last 10 km’s I really had to dig deep. The sky was threating to rain for the whole climb. I really wanted the day to end. Finally at the top of my second and final climb I was done. It was a hard climb.

I stopped at a Wilderness Hilda Creek Hostel but it was vacant. Open only for reservations. I was kind of hoping for a bed tonight. I set my tent up; had some sour jelly beans for supper and in the tent for the night.

I rode about 70 km’s today. It was a tough climb but basically my climbing is done and it is downhill all the way to Jasper. Feel like the weather should continue to improve.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb