Deja Vu


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
October 23rd 2005
Published: October 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well 8 months have passed and I'm back in Banff. I'm not sure that anyone believed me at the time when I said I would come back here but here I am! The place is exactly the same (not surprising really!), just quieter, and it's cold! It's colder than it was the day that we arrived in February (the taxi driver said that it was meant to get to 17 degrees this afternoon though, I'm not sure that I believe him!). There's no snow, but there is a really heavy frost, and there is snow on the hilltops around the town.

I caught the greyhound here from Vancouver, it took about 13 hours over night. It wasn't as bad as I expected as I slept most of it, and seeing dawn break over the mountains this morning was fairly spectacular, the only thing that ruined it slightly was the odd man who was on the bus who kept talking to himself and giggling sparodically - fortunately he didn't get off at Banff! I arrived here at about 8.30 and went up to the hostel only to be told that I couldn't get into my room until 2.30, which is a pain, as all I want to do is go to bed! So I'm now back down in the town at a pretty cool internet cafe updating you lot on what I've been up to, whilst drinking a really weak cup of tea, I think I am going to miss my Tetleys...

The hostel seems really nice. It's a wooden lodge style thing with a great view over the mountains. Apparently it was voted in the top ten hostels in the world to stay in last year so I'm looking forward to getting settled in there, and there is a bar downstairs as well, which is always a bonus. I was chatting to the girl behind the desk when I arrived and she was saying that they have three vacancies going there so I will look into that - free accomodation is a good incentive! Hopefully there will be some decent people staying there who can give me some tips on the best type of work to go for. There are a couple of notices up in this cafe of people looking for house mates so hopefully finding somewhere to stay won't be a problem if I decide against a job in the hostel.

Vancouver was great, I plan to spend more time there when I'm ready to move on. I wanted to get on with the job/house hunting which is why I moved on so quickly. Most people in the hostel were doing much the same thing as well, although they were all heading off to Whistler. From what I've heard / read about that place, it's Disneyland for skiers, complete with fake castles with turrets and everything, which sounds horrible to me so I'm glad I've headed out this way. It also seemed that everyone going there was English and 18 years old!! Gosh, that makes me feel old when that is a bad thing.... There's plenty to go back to do in Vancouver though, I need to go whale watching, and the sea plane over to Vancouver Island looks brilliant, and there are a million and one great looking restaurants to try out - loads of Japanese and Greek places. And we found a brilliant ice-cream shop that had the nicest ice-creams. I can't remember what it was called but it was on Davies Street just up from the road that the hostel is on, I had a scoop of pistachio and a scoop of chocolate hazelnut, mmmmm, it's worth going back to Vancouver just for that!!

Anyway, I'm going to head off now. I have some other things that I need to sort out on the internet and I'm not sure how long I've been on here already or how much it will cost me! When I figure out how to get piccies uploaded on here I'll try and get some on so that you can see some of the stuff I've been up to.

Hope you're all well and email me lots - it's really nice to hear from people!!!

Take care,

Lucy xx

Advertisement



24th October 2005

Sounds like a good start!
24th October 2005

Ello you !
Hi Luce, glad to see that you got there safe and sound, very jealous lol. Have been looking into sorting a boarding trip out! so you never know, may see you out there. You'll be glad to know you have missed nothing since you went, except rain, rain and errr a bit more rain. Take care U.
27th October 2005

Made it at last
Hi Lucy. Glad to here you made it out there fine. Good luck with the job hunting Trev: What do you mean you have been sorting out a boarding trip!!! You and brian have dumped it all on me
31st October 2005

18 year old skiers. You could mould them just the way you want them...
31st October 2005

Good on Ya
Hi Lucy, Glad to see you got their safe and sound. Sorry i have not relied sooner - It has been manic here. I am feeling extremely jealous - especially the part about the ice cream. Sounds like you are on the adventure of a lifetime - good on Ya Take care Dave

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb