escape from the fridge


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
February 13th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cross country skiingCross country skiingCross country skiing

up the Spray River
Banff attracts weird people.

Paul told me that. I gather he should know after living here for 30 years.

There is me, obviously, and Tom, and Betty with her rat of a dog Sam (she herself calls it Rat), the guy who stares at Pokies belly, and a raft of others. And the raft of others all want to work at our store.

Jason was fired a while back, so Management put up the help wanted sign.
A woman walked into the store and stood there looking at me without saying a word. I was putting away the lader, so I just smiled and continued what I was doing. Once the lader was away, I walked around the store looking for things to do, and this woman followed me with her eyes for a few minutes, without ever saying a word. Finally, at little rattled by her constant stare, I wandered over to her and asked her if I could help her with anything.

"I just finished a course of sleep deprivation" she replied.

"Oh, really" I said, trying to act as if what she said was a normal way to start a conversation.

"Yes, but I just slept now, but I am still feeling a little 'beula' ".

"Oh, ok.." I said, "Is there anything else I can help you with?"

"Here's my resume", she replied as she presented one piece of paper to me.

I took the resume, and started to read...

2002 Worked for Hyait.

2003 Father died returned to Ontario

2006 Returned to Banff Tour after being dangled by my kneck by my brother.

2006 Plane landed after removing self...



Welcome to Banff LeAnne, you're going to fit in well here......


-----------------------------------------------------------------



Wolves were extinct from the Banff region for neally a hundred years after they had been hunted for their skins.

Then one day back in the mid 70's the first wolf that had been seen suddenly appeared in Banff. It caused quite a sensation as you can imagine. The first wolf!!!

That was untill one stormy night Paul was driving to Canmore, when a large "dog" ran out onto the highway, and Paul struck it with his car. When he got home he called the parks service and reported
Bridge: successfully navigatedBridge: successfully navigatedBridge: successfully navigated

It was Sarah's first time skiing in 15 years, so every hill was a challenge
hitting a dog back out on the highway. The next day a warden was dispatched to go remove the remains...

And now you can see the remains of the "dog" Paul ran over in the Banff muesuem.

Paul was quite disturbed by killing the first wolf to return to Banff, and so kept the fact as his little secret. But you shouldn't tell secerts to someone who runs a blog......



----------------------------------------------------------------



Here are some other interesting little facts I found out about Alberta:


Albertans have the highest average disposable income, 14% above the national average, at $33, 083. It's the only debt free state in Canada, and with all those oil resources, that's not surprising.

The average wealth of richest 10 % of Albertans is $ 1,311, 401.

THe average wealth of poorest 10% of Albertans is $ -5,314.

That makes a Wealth Gap of $1,316,715. Which is a substantial gap. Albertans also have a stagnant wage - the inflation adjusted average weekly wage from 1993 - 2003 was $676. It rose over that period by about 20 cents.
Which is pretty strange considering that the
Banff Springs HotelBanff Springs HotelBanff Springs Hotel

way off in the distance.
region has zero unemployment. I would have thought that with the job market so tight everyone would be making decent money. But then I discover that Alberta has the lowest rate of unionization at 25%.

I also discovered that before deregulation of the Utility services Alberta paid the lowest utility rates - now they pay the highest.

I have heard it said that Alberta looks a lot like New Zealand...well, it looks more like New Zealand in more ways than just geography...


----------------------------------------------------


Some highlights of February:


and with that I am leaving the Bow Valley.....my lush pad up at Paul's place, my position as employee of the month in the Canadian Store, - but worse, I am leaving my friends Sarah and Pokie....I will miss
out on the townout on the townout on the town

Sarah, logan, and I, out about Banff
you both



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DoesDoes
Does

Detail of a little watercolour I painted for Pokie.
Mt RundelMt Rundel
Mt Rundel

Other than the Banff Springs Hotel, surely the most photographed icon of Banff
paul's wolfpaul's wolf
paul's wolf

that he kindly donated one dark and stormy night
First Nation MusuemFirst Nation Musuem
First Nation Musuem

Surely a giant Tee-pee would be more appropriate than a European log fort.
Buffalos going off a cliffBuffalos going off a cliff
Buffalos going off a cliff

Panarama of 'ancient' practices - using horses they only aquired with the arrival of the White Man
Indian off a water fallIndian off a water fall
Indian off a water fall

What goes around, comes around.....You can tell it's an indain by it's Mohawk.
Fridge Magnet Fridge Magnet
Fridge Magnet

I bought this for Paul as it captures the dinner options well. The grammatical error in the piece only added to it's charm....
Valentines CakesValentines Cakes
Valentines Cakes

These little valintine treats were made for me by one of the customers that admired me...they tasted fantastic...it's just a pitty the admirer is in her 50's.
Bear StreetBear Street
Bear Street

203 Bear st, The Canadian Store
Mid winter BBQMid winter BBQ
Mid winter BBQ

no need to keep the Canandians in a chilly Bin...
What I want is Watte'sWhat I want is Watte's
What I want is Watte's

Sarah loads up her hotdog with inferior Ketchup...
curlingcurling
curling

Yes, tick off that one...I played that very canadian game (it's from Scotland orginially)....pick your opponents carefully, it's not so much fun when they cheat...
Demarcation lineDemarcation line
Demarcation line

Alberta / BC.
Chinook SculptureChinook Sculpture
Chinook Sculpture

This scuplture caused a real ruchass when it appeard riverside in Canmore. Paid for by Canmore rate payers and they all hate it. It's supposed to represent a warm winter wind.
Won't miss the sweepingWon't miss the sweeping
Won't miss the sweeping

All those years sweeping leaves of the driveway developed the fine motor skills needed for snow shovelling.... The one bright side is that the wind doesn't blow the snow back again
Won't miss the baconWon't miss the bacon
Won't miss the bacon

Monstly fat, and skrinking to bite size portions in the pan.


19th February 2007

heehe
hola washon!..heheh...como estay?!-.... ke bueno saber ti!....ha sido un tiempito ....espero ke todo anda re bien!:....oye!...deberias hacerte un myspace!..heheheh ya un abrazo grande!... te kiero amigo! :D xx ps:www.myspace.com/thatxkonixgirl
21st February 2007

oiee!!!
hmmm, Mark..... If I had a nice english I would write on every page that you send... but small children can read my mistakes and I can being a bad example....(rsrsrrss) pero ahora yo escribo para que sepas que es muy bueno saber noticias de ti!! eso es solo para no borrar mi nombre de tu lista, ok??? beijosss!!!!Deus te abençoe!!!
28th February 2007

captain schlam!
nice photo journalism mark! looks like the Canuks treated you well... wow, breathtaking photos! i miss you man...hopefully our paths will cross again someday soon... have yerself a blast down in the southern lands!

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb