Banff, AB and Golden, BC


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff National Park
August 17th 2009
Published: August 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The tentThe tentThe tent

Otis taking over my bed!
Woke up to sun and it still a bit brisk, with gloves on to make the coffee this morning!

Tent down, car packed, dog walked...off for another journey...drove to Mouraine Lake this morning, and once again, cars, cars, cars, campers, campers, campers and no place to park, drove around once, and drove right back out! WOW! Tourist everywhere from so many different places, all taking in the beauty of the Rockies and Banff.

Back out on the trail and trough the pass and down to Golden, BC to have a night with my dear friends Bill and Maggie! Bill cooked up salmon, and all root veggies and salad from his garden. A chance to catch up and find out where and what we have been doing. Maggie's brother is living in the addition and he came down to join us for supper! Just before bed, Bill and went and sat in the hot tub under the stars in the cool night air! A great way to end the day. And Otis is happy today, because he is sleeping on a bed in a house, with a whole pile of kittens and cats! (7 in total). And it is the
AnimalsAnimalsAnimals

Prairie Dog
first time he has really been off leash, except in the car or tent!

My sister, Lisa, has asked some interesting questions, and I thought I would answer them.

I'm excited to hear more of your thoughts: I wake up each morning and wonder where I'm going to go (actually I usually plan the night before where I"m going to go) and it just amazes me I'm doing what I set out to do on this adventure I'm on. One of the thoughts that keeps coming back up for me, is how much I love to camp! I love the basics (I still like flush toilets, Lake Louise has the best toilets!), with just a tent, sleeping bag, camp stove and a wood fire going. The fresh air just makes me so alive! I thank my parents for taking us camping in interesting places when we were younger! Whether it was in
California or Algonquin Park....it was something I always enjoyed. So, thanks, mom and dad for the introduction of camping! The other thing, I have rediscovered is the love of a good hike!

Are you tired? No, generally, I have been driving no more than
ScenerySceneryScenery

Mountains
6 or 7 hours a day, most days, it could be 4 or 5 hours. We get to the campgrounds, go for a walk, set up the tent, cook dinner, clean up and it is soon to head to bed or we go for a hike! It is so important to clean up the campsite every time after eating and have everything back in the car, to keep the bears away. I have been sleeping really well in the fresh air. We generally get up around 8, and to stuff around the site, before heading off for a hike before getting in the car to drive. It does help to stop for a few days in one stop to get out of the car for a few days and take in the sites!

Holding up okay? Yeah! I'm looking forward to getting to Yellowknife and having some time in one place! The journey is so incredible, I just can't wait to start the next day! The people I have been meeting along the way, have been great and some very interesting conversations and a lot of alone time, whether it is in the car or on a hike.
ScenerySceneryScenery

Mountains
I do like having Otis around, at least it doesn't seem like I'm talking to myself all the time! (and he never argues where we are going to go...he just wants to stay on a bed!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SceneryScenery
Scenery

more mountains
Golden, BCGolden, BC
Golden, BC

The cover bridge
Golden, BCGolden, BC
Golden, BC

The million dollar view from Bill and Maggie's place
SupperSupper
Supper

Maggie and her brother, David
SupperSupper
Supper

Bill, the Chef!


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb