July 1, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: chopper lift off 30 secs
2: chopper lift off 30 secs
leaving Calgaryleaving Calgaryleaving Calgary

I spot the mountains
Day 31. 11,102Km.
Happy 142nd Birthday.
As soon as I left the West side of Calgary I could see the mountains. I've been waiting a month for this. I like mountains. Did I mention that already? The closer I got the more excited I felt. I must have been it the mountains in the States before but it's been a long time.
Being a holiday I did'nt think it was a good idea to move on but I often taken the road less traveled. Sometimes literally on this trip. I was headed for Banff by 11.00 but chose to drive right on past to Lake Louise. When traffic ground to a halt and then crawled for several miles I was second guessing my decision. Was this holiday traffic? An accident? Turned out to be a few construction guys collecting up the signs from a completed project. Speaking of the road less travelled, I got off Hwy 1 on the Bow Valley Parkway just bast Banff but quickly decided I would save this road for the bike so I turned around and got back on Hwy 1.
I spotted a sign pointing to a campground and followed. It was the provincial park campground. I suppose being in a provincial park that's all I'll find. There was quite a line up of campers waiting to get to the booth and an employee walking up the line of cars and trucks. When she asked if I had a reservation I thought I was out of luck but she said "no problem". Just the answer I was looking for. I paid for three nights because I'm going to want to ride in this area. I've been waiting for the mountains and now I'm in 'em.
I quick set up camp and jump on the bike. I had spotted a sign on the way in claiming a steep narrow mountain road. A lawyer must have written it. Busses take tours on this road. It's not narrow or steep but it does wind along the side of a mountain. Fortunately I took along an extra sweatshirt so part way up I stopped at a lookout and put it on. There is still snow high up and it really chills the air as you climb.
After reaching the end of the road I turned back and decided I take that Bow Vally Parkway back to Banff. It's 55Km and a beautiful ride. At three different places the road splits into single twisty lanes with a 30Km/Hr. posted limit. 70 worked good and I'm no sport rider. However the 50 or so Ducati's that came up behind me were. This same group passed me in the truck when I first entered the park. I passed the two cars in front of us and left everyone behind. Just as I was meeting up with the highway outside Banff I came upon a bunch of mountain goats by the road. I slowly passed then turned around and got out the camera. I noticed a man standing back a bit like he was watching them. Then I notice he is wearing a harness and a climbing helmet. Weird. Is he herding them? They all cross the road toward me. A few more cars come and the little ones are spooked so they run into the longer grass. The mothers take chase and bring them back. One large male stands in the road blocking cars while the rest cross back. This is really cool. I'm no more than 150 feet away. Could they charge me? That guy is still standing still and he is less than 50 feet away.
A chopper comes over the mountain ridge. As it approaches I can see there it something hanging from it. Are they moving these goats? I'm half way expecting to see a moose in a sling. It's coming closer. Now I can see two people hanging from the chopper. It all comes together. They are coming to where this guy is standing. The goats bolt. Sure enough, they drop off the two people on the end of the rope. One is obviously hurt but no seriously. They set down right in front of me. The injured person is helped inside and the guy who was waiting and the guy who was on the rope disconnect the rope and sling, pack it away and they lift off again. Coincidently just as the chopper is lifting off the Rocky Mountineer rounds the bend right beside me. It is a sight seeing train you can ride through the rockies.
When I got to Banff there was heavy traffic again. Then I realized a Canada day parade had either just finished or was just about to start. It really is a postcard town with almost every building being a chalet style. I was cold enough already and I knew that I would get more sun on me if I took Hwy 1 so off I went. I could see a few rain streams coming down from the clouds ahead and eventually ran into a few minutes of one. Again I was cursing my decision to wear my half helmet but when I first left I was just going to take that narrow steep mountain road so how fast could I go? Those of you who ride know what rain drops feel like at 70MPH. Twice on this trip I've felt it now. OUCH!!!
Once back to Lake Louise I hit the grocery store for a few supplies and headed to camp for some dinner. After dinner but before sun down I decided to take a shower. Usually I wait till much later but when I entered the park I was told about the dozen grizzly bears that pass through to avoid town and they advise you to make noise, carry a big flashlight and travel in pairs when walking in the park after dark. There is a separate tent section in the park that has an electric fence around it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

wildlife bridgeswildlife bridges
wildlife bridges

these are bridges for the animals. They have motion cameras that catch the animals using them too
warning signwarning sign
warning sign

it might be a warning but when you have a motorcycle they might as well mail it to you saying "You and a guest are invited to..."
Lake Louise siteLake Louise site
Lake Louise site

in Banff National Park


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb