Howling at the moon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff National Park
September 26th 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jono and I walked along the Lake Bourgeau trail today - about 24 km (there and back) with over 730 meters elevation gain, so a good hike to get the blood pumping. The trail follows Wolverine Creek (though I didn’t see any wolverines) up to a sub alpine Lake nestled in a limestone ampitheatre. Across the Bow valley you could see Sawback Range. Absolutely amazing views. It was windy and snowing (and need I mention, cold) but that all added to the beauty. We ate a quick lunch at the first lake. (which I wouldn’t have even wanted to swim in with a full diving suit) and then kept walking up to another two hanging ponds. I was totally blown away by the scenery - huge monolithic mountains disappearing into the sky - their bases covered in dabble of mauve, ochre, violet, gold and green. The flora up here is incredible - the fact that anything can grow up in such an icy, windy environment is inspiring. There was a little cluster of mini (though I presume fully-grown) pine trees that made Jono look like a giant when he stood in them. We saw a marmot briefly, as it dashed away
The viewsThe viewsThe views

Note the golden pine-like tree (I think it is a Larch tree, but not sure)
behind a rock.

We then climbed up scree and snow to the intermediate peak of Mt Bourgeau, not the real peak (our 11am start ruled out that option), but it was peak enough for me. I think Jono is slowly luring me to the mountains.

AS we were walking back, I had this eerie feeling of being watched, that I do not get in the Australian bush. Maybe it was my hyperactive imagination fed by the fact that we were walking along Wolverine Creek, and maybe not. The knowledge that there are bears, cougars, wolves, wolverines and lynx all about you is not something that ever really totally leaves your mind. People go on about Australia and all its poisonous snakes and spiders, but that is nothing compared to the feeling of being prey. But hyperactive imagination aside, I know intellectually that the likelihood of being attacked by any of these animals is extremely low. That didn’t stop us from clapping our hands on every blind corner of the track; so much so that my hands were saw by the end of the day!

Speaking of wolves, that night it was a full moon. I was lying in bed, wide awake not able to sleep and I heard the amazing sound of wolves howling. So, they do howl at the moon after all. When they had finished their eerie musical chant, all the neighbourhood dogs started whimpering and crying and barking, wanting, I presume, to be let inside. I would probably want to come inside too after listening to that! The wolves in the Rockies are apparently the largest found anywhere - weighing up to 60kg and standing up to and over a metre high. They usually hunt in packs of up to 8, and there are apparently 120 that roam the Rockies these days, their population slowly building back up to healthy, after being hunted to near extinction.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Getting a little higherGetting a little higher
Getting a little higher

I think there is good ice climbing along these cliffs in winter
There is sun out there somewhereThere is sun out there somewhere
There is sun out there somewhere

the sun capped mountain
working on my tanworking on my tan
working on my tan

as the sun comes out for two seconds


22nd October 2007

Wow
Absolutely stunning!!

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb